Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: I am a HQ Avante owner is anyone else out there

  1. #1
    Super Member daisey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    1,668
    Hi I have questions about my avante. Its a great machine and have great stitches ect, except today I am quilting a quilt with flannel backing and cant seem to get tension right...I have tried everythinq, different threads, changes needle, bobbin tensions ect. It also seems to be skipping stitches now too...only had problem with this one quilt. Has anyone had problems with the actual tension Knob? Its so new cant believe there would be anything wrong already. I will call my rep on Monday and Hq, just have a lot to do, so hoping for help.

  2. #2
    Super Member dakotamaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    South central Nebraska, US
    Posts
    5,257
    If you can;t find what you need here look to see if there is a yahoo group for your setup. There you will find others to share with.

    http://groups.yahoo.com/

  3. #3
    Super Member daisey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    1,668
    Thanks I did and there is no group yet, I may have to start one.
    Daisey

  4. #4
    Senior Member AtHomeSewing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Pacific NW USA
    Posts
    897
    I believe there are Avante users in the HQ16 Yahoo group.
    Good luck, I'm sure you'll be up and going strong very soon.

  5. #5
    Super Member brushandthimble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    North of Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    3,630
    I do not have the Avente (on my wish list), but do have the HQ16. First I check the stitches, is my tension off on the top or bottom, then adjust either the bobbin case or the top tension. Sorry I can't be of much help.

  6. #6
    Super Member daisey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    1,668
    yes I have tried everything, I really think its my thread, because the 1st two quilts I used polyester and it was great this time I used 100 cotton and no matter what I tried it didnt seem to like it. For fun I am putting some polyester back in and see if that does the trick, if not I will know I need to call hq in the morning,
    Thanks, Daisey

  7. #7
    Super Member hcarpanini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    1,902
    Congrats on your Avante'. Lets see what we can try to get you going. Once your bobbin is set, creeping down like a spider, you should only have to adjust your top tension. Try loosening your quilt top a little. Having it to tight can break the thread. If your stitches are consistently skipping you can tweek your needle a tad to the 7:00 position. If your thread is still breaking you may have to loosen your bobbin and top tension both. Try one thing at a time. Good luck, any problems, you can PM me.

  8. #8
    Super Member daisey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    1,668
    Hi Thanks so much! I just read my manual and am going to try the 5 oclock or 7 oclock or the too tight of top. The thread isnt breaking, but the stitches look bad and its either too loose or too tight and sometimes stitches are skipping. Like I said this quilt has flannel but not sure if that would be it...The boobin tension seems perfect but top seems to tight , but when I loosen it its sloppy looking stitches or skipping. I am heading down to try those tips and see what happens, I just started a hq avante group so we can help each other.
    Daisey

  9. #9
    Senior Member crashnquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, Missouri
    Posts
    533
    I have the 16, whenever I use cotton thread I have to turn my needle just a smidge to the right to prevent breakage and to get good stitches.

    You have flannel on back, what do you have for the batting? Also, what fabrics are in the top? Are you getting skipping issues on one fabric or throughout the quilt?

  10. #10
    Super Member daisey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    1,668
    I am going to go try it with the slight turn. Its funny because I love both Cotton and Poly but this is for a customer so I always use cotton unless I ask them 1st. I had read that someone else said that their Avante liked the finer thread too. The tension is too tight but when I loosen it thats when I get the skipped stitches..The fabric looks all 100 percent cotton.
    I am so glad I found this group its great and I love my Avante except last night. I just formed a new yahoo hq avante group since there was none.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.