Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38

Thread: I need an opinion please!

  1. #1
    Super Member jrhboxers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Lexington Park, Maryland
    Posts
    1,103

    I need an opinion please!

    I recently posted pictures of the quilts that I made my son and his girlfriend. The post is here - With HUGE thanks to Leesa

    My husband is telling me that I need to enter one or both of them in the county fair. We have lived here for two and half years. And at both fairs that we have attended, he was not very impressed with what he saw displayed.

    When we lived in Indianapolis, I routinely entered things in the Indiana State Fair in crocheting, sewing and cross stitching. I always seemed to win ribbons, and have four Best of Show ribbons and two Sweepstakes. (I don't do as much crocheting and cross stitching anymore due to health issues.)

    So, opinions - should I enter something in the fair? Which one? Or both?

    Thanks for your input.
    Jane
    Physically in Maryland but heart is in Indianapolis.

    Rescued Boxers are adoptable love. Please consider a homeless/rescued pet when adding to your family.

  2. #2
    Super Member klgls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,599
    They are both beautiful - enter them both!

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    2,592
    That's my opinion as well. Go for it!

  4. #4
    Super Member Teddybear Lady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    AR
    Posts
    2,607
    I agree, enter both of them. Great job!

  5. #5
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    19,182
    ​Look at the prize list of both fairs and see if there is a section for professionally quilted quilts. Some fairs want all the work done by the entrants and others are more flexible. They are great quilts and would certainly win ribbons!

  6. #6
    Super Member woody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    2,027
    Blog Entries
    1
    Enter them both, they are both gorgeous
    The biggest risk is the one not taken

  7. #7
    Super Member feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,485
    As Tartan mentioned, check the rules of the fair. Many fairs, like shows, you fill in that someone else did the LA quilting on the entry form if they dont restrict entries to be all the work of one person. Some even have different categories. Like hand quilted, machine quilted or professionally quilted. I have now seen Computer quilting starting to be a seperate category.

    By all means if there are no restrictions about entering quilts that you sent out for LA quilting, enter them!

    PS, make sure you let Leesa know if you ribbon. Us LAer always like to hear if a quilt we quilted ribboned somewhere

  8. #8
    Super Member needles3thread's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    2,589
    Enter them both...............you never know what impresses the judges.

  9. #9
    Super Member Dina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,296
    You should enter both! They are beautiful!!

    Dina

  10. #10
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    32,804
    Blog Entries
    15
    what would be the drawback of entering both? they both look like winners to me
    Nancy in western NY

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.