Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: I need opinions on this...please.

  1. #1
    Super Member ScubaK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Puget Sound, Wa. State
    Posts
    1,988
    Is this a good deal? Is this an easy set up to work with?
    Any opinions and help would be appreciated...

    http://seattle.craigslist.org/tac/art/1985641214.html

    Kirsten

  2. #2
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,625
    Yes it's a good deal! But, it will be very limiting to work with as it has a small throat. So, if you're a new quilter or will be willing to upgrade after a while, it should work for you.

  3. #3
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    13,001
    Blog Entries
    1
    That is a good deal. I have the Pfaff equivalent. Like Candace wrote, your pattern will be limited to about 5-6" in depth. I believe that there is a cruise control you can add on. The handles are no longer available and the buyer seems to have worked with pantograms which are great in small spaces.

  4. #4
    Senior Member retired2pa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    NW PA
    Posts
    785
    If you Google this model you'll find a few reviews. The throat is smaller than the Brother PQ1500s (which I have and love, BTW) and the Juki TL98Q but that seems like a fair price for it. Here's a web that has great sewing machine reviews. Just scroll down and you'll find this machine reviewed: http://sewing.patternreview.com/SewingMachine/Juki

  5. #5
    Super Member Quiltforme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Beautiful Washington state!
    Posts
    3,344
    I say go for it!!

  6. #6
    Super Member jrhboxers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Lexington Park, Maryland
    Posts
    1,111
    JUMP ON IT - NOW!!!!!

  7. #7
    Super Member Quiltforme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Beautiful Washington state!
    Posts
    3,344
    the good news is when your ready to upgrade you can sell the Juki for a good price or trade in. You will most likely get the $500 you spent on the set up back from the juki.

  8. #8
    Super Member sewmuchmore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    4,000
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have one that is a small throat. I am working on getting my pattern even from the first roll to the next one. So just remember it will take time and lots of practice.

  9. #9
    Super Member ChubbyBunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,066
    Blog Entries
    1
    That's an excellent price! I paid about $1800 for the same set up.

  10. #10
    Super Member BKrenning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Festus, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    1,552
    The Juki alone is worth more than $500. It is a semi-industrial, straight stitch machine specifically made for quilters. Yes, it's a 9" throat but you can still get a lot of quilting done. I used a smidge smaller throat machine to quilt with for many years. You can do the same thing with it that others can do with their 16-18" machines--it just takes some ingenuity--needle down/roll, partial block designs, Max Throat add-on, etc. The Juki is a very popular machine so you'll easily be able to find others to discuss any issues that come up.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.