Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Ideas and opinions needed please!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Posts
    129

    Ideas and opinions needed please!

    I found a pic of this fabric online and became obsessed with it. Spent 2 days trying to find any store that wasn't sold out if it! I now have 5 yards in my possession and need to buy matching fabrics to make a quilt.

    http://www.fabric.com/ProductDetail....f-43ce06413af1

    The reason for my obsession: I have a friend who is a realtor here in town that specializes in the Mid Century Modern homes. He also lives in a mid mod home and is in the process of restoring and redecorating the home. He has all this fabulous 1950s funiture and appliances, and a wonderful paint job in the house in the great colors used during that time period. I saw this fabric and wanted to make him a mid mod quilt.

    Now I am trying to decide what kind of quilt pattern would look Mid Mod. The print on this fabric is kinda big so right now all I can think of is maybe a simple D9 patch with maybe the black diamond and orange dot prints used in the blocks of the 9 patch that will be cut. Any other ideas out there before I order matching fabrics?

  2. #2
    Power Poster lynnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    15,520
    Blog Entries
    1
    I was going to suggest what you said, keeps the prints integrity, you dont want to loose it.
    if you really l o v e that fab, you can app a few of those do dadz on and do some funky quilting.
    Have them kinda float. Make them out of your coordinating/contrast fabs, vary size then app on.
    Show us what you do

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Keene, New Hampshire
    Posts
    4,271
    My son bought a home built in the 1950s.
    I googled "1950 quilt blocks" for ideas
    try that

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    877
    You might try looking at the Michael Miller website to see if they have a pattern featuring these fabrics.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Linda Loo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Round Rock, Tx
    Posts
    173
    Look at some of the "Modern Quilts". Modern Quilt Guild has examples on their flicker pgs. Something with a good bit of negative space would highlight any of that fabric line (which I love, by the way!). Lots of white and or gray would be perfect. Love, love, love your fabric. Oh, look at Moda bake shop for ideas as well.
    Linda L

  6. #6
    Senior Member alisonquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Winston-Salem NC
    Posts
    658
    Could you use it as a backing fabric so the pattern is preserved, and use complementary fabrics to make a pieced pattern on the other side?

    Alison

  7. #7
    Senior Member fatquarters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    746
    Blog Entries
    2
    How about a wide band (12-15") horizontally OR vertically of focus fabric with chevrons in coordinating colors perpendicular to the band of focus. cheverons kinda remind me of 50's
    fatquarters

  8. #8
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    24,262
    That site that showed the piece had several companion pieces, I would go with some of those, the colors will be true to the main piece.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  9. #9
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Grundy Co Illinois
    Posts
    5,281
    Quote Originally Posted by Linda Loo View Post
    Look at some of the "Modern Quilts". Modern Quilt Guild has examples on their flicker pgs. Something with a good bit of negative space would highlight any of that fabric line (which I love, by the way!). Lots of white and or gray would be perfect. Love, love, love your fabric. Oh, look at Moda bake shop for ideas as well.
    I agree with all she said!! Lots of negative space to highlight the fabric. Use the remainder of the 5 yards for the backing (with perhaps the same design in reverse??).

    Here's a few I found that could be terrific for this quilt.

    http://hiptopiecesquares.com/blog/modern_quiltalong/ the "Big Dots" quilt

    http://www.allquilting.biz/quilt-blo...ative%20space/ "orbs way" - I would use your fabric as the background

    http://www.handmadebyalissa.com/ several idea's in her blog. I like the "Pink greater than".
    May your stitches always be straight, your seams always lie flat, and your grain never be biased against you.

    Sue

  10. #10
    Super Member Dina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,473
    I think a D9P pattern would look very good with that fabric!

    Dina

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.