Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
I'm totally stuck on something >

I'm totally stuck on something

I'm totally stuck on something

Old 05-27-2011, 05:16 AM

I'm making a wallhanging featuring dogs in dog houses. I was zipping right along until it came to the strips with cornerstones. I've never done those before and I cut them the size it says for the long part and then cut the small cornerstones, but when I sewed them together they are way too long for the blocks. What did I do wrong?
Old 05-27-2011, 05:28 AM

I haven't done many cornerstones... but I think you need to measure and add 1/2".
Old 05-27-2011, 05:30 AM
Power Poster

Without a pic I can't be 100percent sure, but normally the strips are cut the length of your unfinished block. Did you measure your blocks? Did they come out to the size the pattern said they should?
Old 05-27-2011, 05:33 AM

do you mean the cornerstones for the sashing? The sashing should be cut in lengths matching the unfinished block length. Cornerstones should be cut in a square the cut width of the sashing.
Old 05-27-2011, 06:13 AM

Please keep in mind that some patterns are not correct in their measurements. I have had this problem before, just make a note to self of the correct measurement and keep on sewing.
Old 05-27-2011, 06:44 AM

Without a picture, it's hard to determine the problem, but measuring is the first step. Measure the block on each side (hopefully they're all the same!), and then cut your sashing strip the same length. For your cornerstone, cut a square the same width as your sashing (if you're starting with a 2-1/2" sashing strip - which will finish at 2" - then cut a 2-1/2" square for your cornerstone).