Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: IMPORTANT:tater bag opinion needed please

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Vail, AZ
    Posts
    114
    My quilting group started making microwave tater bags to sell at craft shows in December for fundraiser. Some in group are voicing concerns about bags catching on fire and think we need to put warning with the bags when we sell them. I would rather not make and sell them if we have to list a warning about them catching on fire. Can I have opinions on this please? Thanks so much.

  2. #2
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    2,785
    Use cotton thread and put the time that they should be used in the microwave. That should do it. Most people would use their heads I would think.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    West Frankfort, Illinois
    Posts
    51
    The thing you have to remember is that POLYESTER THREAD MELTS!! You have to use 100% cotton thread to sew it together and rayon thread AND rayon bobbin thread if you embroider anything on it. Sulky is the only one that I've found that makes rayon thread. Cotton thread is also hard to find. Remember to use UNBLEACHED muslin for the inside layer and UNBLEACHED batting. You can use any kind of cotton outer fabric. If you follow all of these rules you'll be fine

  4. #4
    Super Member grann of 6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glenmoore, PA
    Posts
    7,316
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by dianna1234
    My quilting group started making microwave tater bags to sell at craft shows in December for fundraiser. Some in group are voicing concerns about bags catching on fire and think we need to put warning with the bags when we sell them. I would rather not make and sell them if we have to list a warning about them catching on fire. Can I have opinions on this please? Thanks so much.
    I have seen these and just don't get it. What's wrong with a piece of paper towel wrapped around the potato to microwave? There is special batting to be used. As others are saying, you have to use everything cotton, no polyester. I wouldn't want to risk being sued over something like this. I don't know what the legal ramifications would be, but I myself wouldn't want to risk buying something like that from a stranger. Thank you, I will keep using my damp paper towel, and have it to wipe my hands after eating the potato.

  5. #5
    Super Member deedum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    3,807
    I agree with you! The idea of having to put a warning on the bag and you should, may deter the sale. I would look at something else. I made one 100% cotton and I still question what the thrill is!

  6. #6
    Super Member patchsamkim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Fox Valley Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,926
    I have made many...always use cotton batting, fabrics and thread...have had no problems with any burning. I always have included information on cooking times. I have never sold any though, just have given them away as gifts.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Firmly North Georgia
    Posts
    770
    I've seen these selling like hotcakes at street fairs and no, they didn't have warning on them. Test your product if you have reservations. 100%% cotton batting, cotton thread, cotton fabric. Wash your tater and put it in wet, four minutes, flip, four more minutes. Hurrah for common sense, it may return yet.

    They work and they are reusable.

  8. #8
    dd
    dd is offline
    Super Member dd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,328
    I also put bread or rolls in mine and they don't get chewy like when you just wrap them a paper towel for some reason.

  9. #9
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    30,337
    Blog Entries
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by grann of 6
    Quote Originally Posted by dianna1234
    My quilting group started making microwave tater bags to sell at craft shows in December for fundraiser. Some in group are voicing concerns about bags catching on fire and think we need to put warning with the bags when we sell them. I would rather not make and sell them if we have to list a warning about them catching on fire. Can I have opinions on this please? Thanks so much.
    I have seen these and just don't get it. What's wrong with a piece of paper towel wrapped around the potato to microwave? There is special batting to be used. As others are saying, you have to use everything cotton, no polyester. I wouldn't want to risk being sued over something like this. I don't know what the legal ramifications would be, but I myself wouldn't want to risk buying something like that from a stranger. Thank you, I will keep using my damp paper towel, and have it to wipe my hands after eating the potato.
    :thumbup: :thumbup:

  10. #10
    Senior Member rj.neihart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    459
    I was at a craft show the other day and there were some of the potato bags being sold. As I looked them over, the sales person mentioned they have magnets in them so one can stick them to the side of the microwave. I wonder if maybe this is why some catch on fire?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.