Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
IRONS >

IRONS

IRONS

Old 09-14-2007, 03:14 PM

Can anyone advise me on a good-quality iron that doesn't have the "auto shut off feature"? i've been turning irons off for 50 years now and don't need an iron to make that decision for me. Or else, does anyone know if the feature could be disabled without harming the iron's basic function...please, help an old lady!
Old 09-14-2007, 03:46 PM

I know what you mean about an automatic shut off Iron. It is frustrating to go to use it and it has shut itself off. I have gotten several nice Black and Deckers at my local thrift store. They are the older ones that are black with a teal on and off switch. Just make sure you plug it in and see if it still works.

Debbie
Old 09-14-2007, 04:24 PM

My Rowenta Pro shuts off, but heats up again so fast, it's amazing. The blast of steam easily goes through 6 layers of cloth. The cheap irons always used to go bad on me and boil over.

I hate ironing, so this lets me get it done faster
Old 09-14-2007, 04:42 PM

I have a Rowenta and a Sunbeam, w/auto shutoff. Both are good. :D
Old 09-14-2007, 08:48 PM

I have a Rowenta Pro and love it.. but it is dying... I have truly worn it out.. and dropping it on the floor a few times hasn't helped! LOL! I plan on getting another Rowenta. This one has last 15 years and seen an amazing amount of usuage.. not only do I use it for quilting, I also iron a ton of clothes each week! Barb C
Old 09-14-2007, 08:54 PM

I have a Rowenta Power Glide. It is a few years old but still works wonderfully. It shuts off automatically but it heats up real fast.
Pam
Old 09-15-2007, 06:41 AM

I also have the auto shut off, but so far have had no problems. When I am working in there, I hear it shut off. But the best part about it is this: When I leave the room I know that I don't have to worry about forgetting to shut it off. I know that it will shut off by itself. To me that is worth putting up with a little annoyance.

Rita