Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Janome Accufeed moving while FMQing - is this normal?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    609
    Just noticed this on my Janome Horizon. I purchased the machine last September (I do love it!!!), and can't remember ever seeing this before. It doesn't make sense to me, because my feed dogs are down and my stitch length is set to zero.

    Might well be that it's a perfectly normal thing and I'm only noticing this because I'm no longer so stressed out by the FMQ thing... But thought I'd check with this knowledgeable board, in case it's an indication of some problem that needs fixing.

    Thanks in advance! You are always such a great community to come to for advice.

  2. #2
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,111
    Blog Entries
    1
    Is there a way to disengage that feature? :D:D:D

  3. #3
    Super Member featherweight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westminster, Co
    Posts
    2,700
    The IDT on the Pfaff's can be engaged and disengaged. I am sure you can on that machine too.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    609
    Weeell... I think I'm doing the disengaging right. When you finish using it, you push the "hook" back up so it clicks into its holder. I've fiddled with it some more and I'm pretty sure it's doing what the manual says.

    What's more worrying is that this morning as I was winding bobbins, the needle was running at full speed while the bobbin wound! Yikes. Definitely something weird going on. I guess I will be checking with my dealer tomorrow, sigh...

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2,718
    I don't have a Horizon, but I've read on the Horizon yahoo group that they do this, it's normal.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    609
    Ok. Will check there, thank you.

  7. #7
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    1,ooo miles from home
    Posts
    13,054
    Blog Entries
    2
    call the shop where you bought it. the needle shouldn't be moving when filling the bobbin. I got my Janome back once with it doing that and took it back. got it fixed again.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    609
    Thanks, good to know it can be fixed. And have you ever noticed, does your accufeed hook move while you sew with a non-accufeed foot?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.