Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Janome Horizon stitch problems!! HELP!

  1. #1
    Junior Member bearspaws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Southeast BC, Canada
    Posts
    198

    Janome Horizon stitch problems!! HELP!

    Has anyone had this problem that can help? I have a Horizon that sewed perfect up til a couple of weeks ago. I jammed some polar fleece fabric into the needleplate and had to remove it to cut the fabric out. After that (could be a coincidence though), my machine has not been sewing properly. It was making a loop on the underside of the fabric every few inches or so. I was using the same thread, and same cotton quilting fabric like I've used for the last 2 years and it wasn't a problem before so I don't think that's the problem now. I cleaned every speck of lint, tried different needles, re-threaded top and bottom a dozen times, tried sewing on different tension settings (but it's always sewed great on AUTO), "flossed" the tension discs and it still was doing it. I even switched the needleplate and bobbin case with one from a new horizon that a lady has in my quilting group and it still looped. So I blew out the top tension discs with some canned air (a no-no I know but I'm desperate at this point)and found more lint in the bobbin area and tried sewing again and the stitch has improved (the loops have for the most part disappeared) but it still has areas of loose and wonky uneven stitches every few inches (like it will have maybe 3 or so looser stitches and then a few inches of nice stitches, then a couple of crooked stitches, another few inches of nice stitches etc etc). Frustrated!!! Does anyone have any idea what the problem might be? I can't take it apart to check those tension discs for a stray thread or fuzz although they look clean when I shine a flashlight through there. I don't know what else it could be and I don't see a bit of fuzz in the bobbin area anymore. I filed a couple of bumpy areas down on the bobbin case, but it still isn't working. I do have a new bobbin case on order but like I said, I tried the new one from the other machine and it still did it. UGH!!! I do believe I am threading it properly as I've been threading it the same as always so it's got to be something else. I just wanted to see if anyone here had any suggestions before I take it to the nearest dealer over 2 hours away.
    Thanks!
    Evelyn
    Always be kind to animals, morning, noon, and night, for animals have feelings too, and furthermore, they bite!

  2. #2
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,716
    You could have knocked it out of time with a major jam like that. It may be telling you it's time for a day at the spa.

  3. #3
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    20,444
    I can sympathize because I broke a needle in my Bernina this week and I've tried everything I can think of and she's still skipping stitches. She is going to have to in to get the timing fixed. I keep trying to sew hoping a miracle has occurred. Barring a miracle for your machine, I think she may have to go to the repairman.

  4. #4
    Super Member QuiltnLady1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,898
    Unfortunately, I think you need to take it in -- it sounds like you tried everything I would suggest.
    QuiltnLady1

    When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

  5. #5
    Super Member jemma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    adelaide /australia
    Posts
    1,393
    i think it will be the timing--can you negotiate with the shop for a pit stop--they fix it when you arrive a[if they can]it would only then be one trip

  6. #6
    Super Member justflyingin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jozefow, Poland
    Posts
    4,003
    I have a Horizon as well. The way I have have gotten out the lint out of the BACK of the tension disks, where I've had the problem is to cut a thin piece of 3x5 card stock so that I have a piece of card stock about 3/8" wide and 5" long. I then carefully put it behind the tension disks...where you can't really see, even with a flashlight. I then gently stick it down the back side of the tension disks and lift up and see if anything comes out. (Do this several times trying to find anything that might be jammed in there.) Two times I have had thread back in there...when I got it out, it sewed fine again.

    I understand the frustration. Driving 2 hours one way is enough to make you want to try to figure it out yourself.

    For me, just flossing the tension disks on the front side (as in regular threading) didn't do anything--the thread bits were where it was difficult to get to. Both times it was a little wad of thread stuck in there.

    I have had things stuck in my machine as well even to where it made a terrible sound and I quickly turned it off and got the thing "unstuck" (and then cleaned it out thoroughly as you have). However, that was unrelated.

  7. #7
    Junior Member bearspaws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Southeast BC, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Does the timing affect the stitches every inch or so? I would have thought that all the stitches would be out of whack? Is the timing a simple fix? Good thing I bought a used Janome 6260 for my daughter for $50 from someone in my quilting group because it looks like I'm going to need it for my 3 day quilting group blitz starting on Monday..SIGH...

    Justflyingin: I just tried to floss the backs with some cardstock as you suggested but nothing came up. Thanks for the suggestion, I will try it the next time something happens, and I'm sure it will LOL!
    Always be kind to animals, morning, noon, and night, for animals have feelings too, and furthermore, they bite!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1
    I have the 7700 and had a loop every few inches not too long ago. After multiples attempts to clean and verify no thread was caught anywhere I moved the upper tension dial quite a ways off of auto and made a few test rows and the problem disappeared. I moved the dial back to auto and the problem did not return. Good luck!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.