Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 9 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 84

Thread: Janome mc6600

  1. #1
    Ben
    Ben is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    17

    Janome mc6600

    Has anyone ever had trouble with this machine? I bought my wife this machine for Christmas and were have trouble with it already, it jams up and leaves a rats nest on the bottom side like the bobbin isn't quite right and we rethread everything and sews good for a while then messes up again. And I can't get it to sew for me to save my life. I've come to the conclusion that it don't like me a bit! Any info would be great. Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Senior Member skowron5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Wallace, Michigan
    Posts
    452
    I have the Janome 6600p I think it is the same machine. I bought it about 1 1/2 years ago and have a lot of trouble with mine. Try using really good thread. I know it sounds silly, but mine will not sew unless I use good thread. I had to have a new motherboard put in 2 months after I got it. It works fine now. Take it back to the dealer and have them look at it. I hope you have a good service person in your area. I had a hard time finding one in mine. When they are working they are a great machine. I know you will get lot's of people on here that love the machines, but like anything there are lemons out there. I even called Janome directly and they were not interested in any problems I had.

    Good Luck.
    Last edited by skowron5; 02-05-2013 at 05:06 AM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    193
    If you purchased it from a dealer - I would give them a call to schedule an appointment for them to take a look at the machine. If you purchased it from an individual - you still need to contact a repair type person - sometimes it takes a repair man to find what is causing the problem. I have this same machine and it is a wonderful machine - I hope you can resolve this issue and she will be able to enjoy this machine.... Good Luck -

  4. #4
    Ben
    Ben is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by skowron5 View Post
    I have the Janome 6600p I think it is the same machine. I bought it about 1 1/2 years ago and have a lot of trouble with mine. Try using really good thread. I know it sounds silly, but mine will not sew unless I use good thread. I had to have a new motherboard put in 2 months after I got it. It works fine now. Take it back to the dealer and have them look at it. I hope you have a good service person in your area. I had a hard time finding one in mine. When they are working they are a great machine.

    Were going to take it back to where we bought it I believe she uses coats and Clark thread. Is that a good thread?

  5. #5
    Senior Member skowron5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Wallace, Michigan
    Posts
    452
    Mine will not work with Coats & Clark. It likes Aurifil you have to buy online. Gutterman you can get at Joann's it works pretty good with that.

  6. #6
    Ben
    Ben is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    17
    I do know she uses the gutterman also but will have to see what she is using currently.

  7. #7
    Super Member Raggiemom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    3,353
    Not to be insulting, but are you sure it's threaded correctly? Several times I thought I had mine done right, but when I looked, the thread had slipped off the upper thread tension control. Also, like others have said, my 6600 is VERY picky about thread. I generally use Aurifil in it. Hope you're able to figure out the problem, it is a great machine when operating smoothly.
    Heather

  8. #8
    Super Member nabobw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Pinellas Park Fl
    Posts
    4,546
    Blog Entries
    6
    I had one and never had a problem with it. Used any thread.

  9. #9
    Super Member sewmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Midland, Michigan
    Posts
    1,899
    Coats and clark thread is kind of linty. If it is still under warranty, i would call or take it back and have them look at it.
    A time to tear, And a time to sew;
    A time to keep silence, And a time to speak;

  10. #10
    Ben
    Ben is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Raggiemom View Post
    Not to be insulting, but are you sure it's threaded correctly? Several times I thought I had mine done right, but when I looked, the thread had slipped off the upper thread tension control. Also, like others have said, my 6600 is VERY picky about thread. I generally use Aurifil in it. Hope you're able to figure out the problem, it is a great machine when operating smoothly.
    No insulate taken but she's had problems off and on from the start. I just talked with her and she's using gutterman thread currently.

Page 1 of 9 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.