Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Jelly Roll Question >

Jelly Roll Question

Jelly Roll Question

Old 04-02-2012, 06:51 AM

Default Jelly Roll Question

I purchased a jelly roll from Walmart and was extremely happy because it was in a sale pile. Now, I think I know why it was there! After sewing four strips together and cutting to make blocks, I found out that the strips were not the same width. Thus, my blocks as I tried to cut them to make the "4 Dudes Jelly Roll Quilt" are not the same size size! Help!!! what can I do to try to save it?

By the way I am a novice quilter and have fallen in love with the art.
Old 04-02-2012, 07:17 AM

I would measure the narrowest strip and use that as the determining factor in the block size. If this is the quilt I am thinking about, the block size is very forgiving. The size of the finished quilt will be a bit different, but you can fix that with borders.

Incidently -- the jelly roll batiks you get at LQS also have this problem. The best thing to do if you work with jelly rolls is make sure how wide the strips are before you start. (Some of the edges get frayed on some jelly rolls so again, not all of the strips are the same width).
Old 04-02-2012, 03:03 PM

That is common in precuts I hear, even with the top brands.
Old 04-02-2012, 03:27 PM

I did a Jelly Roll Race quilt with 2 WalMart jelly rolls and all of the strips were the same width-- the quilt came out big (48 strips instead of the 40 you get with brand names) and beautiful in yellow, black, white and grey! All for only $19.94 and two hours of my time. I'm a happy camper (and have the strips for 2 more from WM-- one is batiks!)
Old 04-02-2012, 03:30 PM

I prefer to cut my own strips for this reason.

But, you can always add 3 inches of sashing to each block then trim them all to the same size if you dobt want to make a smaller quilt than planned.
Old 04-02-2012, 03:38 PM