Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Landscape Quilting >

Landscape Quilting

Landscape Quilting

Old 01-08-2007, 08:45 PM

Hi everyone! I have a question on landscape quilting. I am interested in making pine trees look like pine trees. Does anyone have some ideas? I am pretty new at this and am in the middle of making a woodsy landscape with pine trees. I'm not sure how to make the needles on the trees look like a true pine tree. I have thought of embroidery thread. I do not have an embroidery machine just an old machine with limited zigzag options. I've also looked for pine trees, but too small. I would prefer to make my leaves, etc., rather than cutting them out of a fabric. If anyone has some ideas I would appreciate the help. Thanks to all.
Old 01-09-2007, 04:08 AM

Sondra when you are looking at a pine tree from a distance you don't see each pine needle but a group. Look at pictures of pine trees in magazines or out your window( if you're lucky). I would put down a small piece of green fabric for the center of a group and stitch lots of lines away fron it. Cut your fabric in cloud shapes with different sizes and shapes....GOOD LUCK!
Old 01-10-2007, 08:00 AM

Thanks, your right and I can look at my window at many pine trees. I have several in my yard--duh? Sometimes it takes a knock in the head to make me think. Do you just machine stitch straight lines in a lighter colored thread than the dark green patches I currently have for pine trees? Thanks once again.
Old 01-10-2007, 09:01 AM