Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: LAQ machine/set up?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NE IL
    Posts
    461

    LAQ machine/set up?

    Ladies,
    I'm thinking that I'd like to get a laq set up. However, I do have to watch the price. What I would like is to be able to hook up a computer and tell the machine what pattern to quilt.

    What is a reliable, good machine set up to do this? I realize Gammill (sp) is the Mercedes, but is there something that will do the job and not break my bank if I do this?

    I really want to hear the good/bad--of whatever your experiences are.

    TIA~~
    **************
    Ginger
    ~stitching one thread at a time~

  2. #2
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,368
    I have the imperial frame, viking 18x8 and qbot with software and I just love it.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    89
    I really love my APQS Millenium, and a lot of people use the Intelliquilter as the computer portion (some use compuquilter.) If you have questions, feel free to stop by the APQS forum (linked to on the main apqs website) - you don't have to be an owner to post.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NE IL
    Posts
    461
    Thanks ladies! I have a Viking Sapphire. In my dreams/wishes I'd love to just get a complete other set up for this. I have space, I just don't think I want one that is 10' long.......at least that's my thoughts now--
    **************
    Ginger
    ~stitching one thread at a time~

  5. #5
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,460
    10' long is probably the MINIMUM you'd want. The typical size to do a king is 12' long and some people have a 14' long frame.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Lived in San Diego now retired in Eagar, AZ.
    Posts
    853
    Blog Entries
    1
    you will need to shop and find what you want to pay for, but good used machines (as others move up to those computer driven models) are available and with a bit of practice, you will have original designs and quick response times...the computer models do come with a learning curve so don't overlook that when shopping...try them all...No Wrong Way to Quilt!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NE IL
    Posts
    461
    Is there one brand that is better than another or a brand that I should absolutely stay away from?
    **************
    Ginger
    ~stitching one thread at a time~

  8. #8
    Super Member ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    9,118
    you don't say what you consider (breaking the bank) most computerized systems start in the $10000+ range- on up to $40,000+
    a system without the computer part can be found in the $5000-$7000 range (you may be able to find a used one somewhere too- but it would be best to visit & test drive as many as you can find then make a choice- it's kind of like buying a new car- a large investment- and different people like different ones. when spending so much money you want to choose the one right for you-not the one right for me.
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NE IL
    Posts
    461
    WOW! I had no idea that adding a computer into the mix raised the price so much.....hmmmm, I guess I need a lot more research. I haven't played with one at all, just looked at them.

    Thanks much ladies!
    **************
    Ginger
    ~stitching one thread at a time~

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New Rockford, ND
    Posts
    1,487
    I have a gracie 2 frame with a janome 1600p
    the throat isnt very big but it sure works good.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.