Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Lego Quilt >

Lego Quilt

Lego Quilt

Old 07-06-2010, 03:59 PM

So my nephew has requested a Lego design for his quilt. I haven't found any patterns or even any decent pictures of finished "lego" quilts to help me design the thing. I am a advanced beginner so it has to be relativly basic in construction, medium sized applique pieces are okay.

Does anyone have any ideas as to how I should go about this project?

Thanks.
Old 07-06-2010, 04:01 PM

Is there any Lego fabric out there like there is for Tinkerbell & Lightning McQueen, etc?
Old 07-06-2010, 04:03 PM

What about blocks that look like legos? Rectangles with circles in them, or from the side, it could be a rectangle with squares sticking up for the bumps.
Old 07-06-2010, 05:03 PM

i have not seen lego fabric, but you could probably piece a lego building, truck, etc. it would be more primary than advanced. how old is your nephew?
Old 07-06-2010, 06:02 PM

He is five. Primary colors would be easy enough and cheaper than licensed fabric. I especially like the truck idea. Now to get it down as a design. Thanks fore the ideas.

Originally Posted by wishiwerequilting
i have not seen lego fabric, but you could probably piece a lego building, truck, etc. it would be more primary than advanced. how old is your nephew?
Old 07-06-2010, 07:37 PM

Whoops, link was too long. There is a nice one on the first results page when I typed lego quilt into google images (a lot like what "uglycook" described when she suggested a rectangle with a small square on top) and there are a few more, good luck!
Old 07-06-2010, 07:43 PM

Once upon a time, there were Lego sheets made that looked like Lego bricks stacked together. There were also Lego Bionicle sheets made, too. I have seen Lego fabric but it is from Japan so it would be pricey if you can find it. You may find the sheets on eBay.