Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Lifespan of a cutting mat? >

Lifespan of a cutting mat?

Lifespan of a cutting mat?

Old 08-27-2010, 08:34 PM

I've been using my cutting mat for 4 years now. I'd say I'm a pretty average user - lots of use on weekends and over vacation/holiday times (those times when I have a nice chunk of time to quilt my heart out). It seems okay, but then again, sometimes we don't realize how bad things can get (like how dull the rotary blade really is until it's changed or how bad our eyes are until we get new glasses, etc).
Any thoughts on this topic?
Old 08-27-2010, 08:48 PM
Power Poster

i'm cheap, spend money on fabric, i'll keep turning mine over till it falls apart or gets cut apart. been using rotary mats for over 25 yrs, on my 3rd, still using the same cutter, new blades course. but made about 250 on these mats,
is there an estimated time
Old 08-27-2010, 10:24 PM

I've been using my mat(s) about 25+ years also!!! In fact I just bought a new set (I'm using the double xlg ) and put it on my table yesterday. I have enjoyed looking at it, but haven't been able to bring myself to cut on it yet!! Hope that passes soon.
Old 08-27-2010, 10:44 PM