Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38

Thread: Light in the Valley Quilt - if you like it look at this post

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,788
    i can across the book Beautiful Bargello in the Connecting Threads catalog.

    i found pics of the patterns in the book and one of them looks just like the lights in the valley quilt except its upside down and they made a table runner instead of a bed quilt.


    here are the 2 pics and you guys tell me if i'm looking at it correctly.

    if you've always wanted a lights in the valley quilt you might want to buy this book it gives detailed directions on how to make it - granted its a table runner but you can just keep adding blocks to make it a bed quilt.

    here's a link to the book and all the projects that are in it - the price is cheaper at connecting threads so buy it there but look at the pics in the link.

    ok, i'm rambling here's the link and pics

    http://www.e-patternscentral.com/det...l?prod_id=5284






    table runner from the book
    Name:  Attachment-40719.jpe
Views: 2530
Size:  52.3 KB

    Lights in the valley
    Name:  Attachment-40720.jpe
Views: 2478
Size:  43.6 KB

  2. #2
    Power Poster Lacelady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    12,326
    Blog Entries
    19
    Oooooh, Lovely. Why is it that I want every book?

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,788
    i know its terrible. i have a rule with pattern books - i have to like and make 2 patterns from the book or else i can't buy it.

    i figure the cost of 2 patterns is roughly the cost of a book - so i feel like i got my monies worth.

    i do want this book because i like this table runner and i like the quilt on the cover - so i met the requirements for purchase :D

    the book isn't that expensive at connecting threads its also the same price at soft expressions.

  4. #4
    Super Member b.zang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    1,804
    Blog Entries
    1
    Ohhh, that's the Amish quilt that was posted a while ago! Lovely, lovely, lovely!

    Are you going to make that table runner? Be sure to let us see!

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,788
    Quote Originally Posted by b.zang
    Ohhh, that's the Amish quilt that was posted a while ago! Lovely, lovely, lovely!

    Are you going to make that table runner? Be sure to let us see!
    yes its the amish quilt that loretta posted a while back.

    don't you think the table runner is the same design as the amish quilt?

  6. #6
    Power Poster SulaBug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    I am in Secret Santa Land!! :D
    Posts
    10,007
    Blog Entries
    1
    I just love this table runner pattern!! :D
    It's very lovely. I have never tried this
    type of pattern, but am getting interested!! :D
    Thank you for sharing.
    :D :D :D :D

  7. #7
    Super Member Quilt4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Merrimac, MA
    Posts
    9,038
    Blog Entries
    1
    Love it.

  8. #8
    Super Member kwhite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    North East USA
    Posts
    5,083
    It is beautiful and I think it is an intriguing pattern from a skill point of view but I don't think I would really want to make it for myself. I don't think it would fit into my world.

    Klue let us know how difficult the pattern is.

  9. #9
    Super Member ghostrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4,310
    It might be very similar in construction, but you would really have to know what you were doing with color (as I know you do, Klue) to turn it into the Lights in the Valley quilt. The table runner looks very unrefined compared to the Amish quilt pattern, mostly because of the color placement, and it's difficult to tell the proportions from the two photographs. That would also affect the visual flow of the final piece.

  10. #10
    farscapegal
    Guest
    I found it for $10 at Amazon.com.

    Sybil

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.