Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Lightweight Batting Alternative?

Lightweight Batting Alternative?

Hello All!

I'm very new to quilting here, so I am sorry if I don't know the correct term for what I am looking for.
    What would you all suggest for me to use for an extremely lightweight quilt? I am contemplating what sort of batting or backing I would use for someone who overheats in the winter using only a bed sheet or light weight blanket at night. Ha. Tall order, I know.

I have read that I could always use a very thin fleece throw as batting. Is this advisable?

I like Quilters Dream Request batting for very thin quilts. I think it is the thinnest batting you can buy.

Blog Entries
    You could either use no batting at all, just quilt a backing onto your top. Or you could use a flannel sheet or some flannel fabric.

Fleece and polytester batts would be very warm, as they do not breathe.

A cotton batt would breathe, so would not provide the same heat factor.

I've used flannelette as a batt ... breathes and provides some warmth, but not a lot.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Quilter's Dream Request is only recommended for hand quilting. Their Select is a nice weight for a 100% cotton batting. My favorite is Dream Orient, it has bamboo, silk, botanic tensile, and cotton. This is a very snuggly but lightweight batting. www.quiltersdreambatting.com to read more about them.
    Cheryl Robinson
    http://www.silverneedlestitching.com
    APQS Millenium Longarm with Intelliquilter

Quote Originally Posted by Dreamflowerlillin View Post
    Hello All!

I'm very new to quilting here, so I am sorry if I don't know the correct term for what I am looking for.