Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Long Arm Quilting Question >

Long Arm Quilting Question

Long Arm Quilting Question

Old 06-06-2012, 11:49 PM

Default Long Arm Quilting Question

I am new to this and had a quilt on the longarm tonight that I removed and am now unquilting.

My first problem was visiting while doing the quilting - because I didn't check the back like I should have and there are all kinds of loops.

Every once in a while I would have some loops on the back and it appears that the tension must be the issue because most of the stitches have been pretty easy to remove.

Where do I start in figuring out how to fix this so I can reload the quilt and get it done? Is part of the problem the thread - I am using a varigated thread by Signature - I used it before on a quilt without any problems.

Any help will be appreciated.
Old 06-07-2012, 12:16 AM

Okay, I am a novice too but I think it is the tension. There are many groups on the net that can help with that as well as you can search here and see if there are any answers for you. Sorry I am not more help than that.
Old 06-07-2012, 01:08 AM

Originally Posted by w7sue View Post
I am new to this and had a quilt on the longarm tonight that I removed and am now unquilting.

My first problem was visiting while doing the quilting - because I didn't check the back like I should have and there are all kinds of loops.

Every once in a while I would have some loops on the back and it appears that the tension must be the issue because most of the stitches have been pretty easy to remove.

Where do I start in figuring out how to fix this so I can reload the quilt and get it done? Is part of the problem the thread - I am using a varigated thread by Signature - I used it before on a quilt without any problems.

Any help will be appreciated.
The first thing I do is unthread the top AND the bottom, making sure I have the machine threaded correctly.