Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Longarm Templates made from wood >

Longarm Templates made from wood

Longarm Templates made from wood

Old 01-28-2014, 01:08 PM

Default Longarm Templates made from wood

Since I am also a woodworker, I am wondering if long arm templates could be made from 1/4 to 3/8 inch thick wood. I haven't found any but it would seem that anything that will guide the foot while not allowing the template to slip under the needle would work fine. Does anyone have any thoughts on why this would not work? It would be fun to make them and I get to play with both hobbies.
Old 01-28-2014, 01:15 PM
Power Poster

It is very helpful to be able to see through the template, much easier to position it in relation to the piecing and other quilting.
Old 01-28-2014, 01:32 PM
Power Poster

perhaps they could be "windowed"?
Old 01-28-2014, 01:44 PM

I don't see why it couldn't work, as long as you are quilting where you don't need to see through the template ... like an all-over baptist fan perhaps and you just need the curve to repeat.
Old 01-28-2014, 02:22 PM
Power Poster

It would be difficult to hold a large template safely, even with an extension table. However, there are boards with grooves that are used like pantos. My sister used to use these. There's a stylus that fits in a groove routered into a piece of plywood or plexiglass.
http://www.handiquilter.com/shop/cat...groovy-boards/
Old 01-28-2014, 02:24 PM
Power Poster

​Wood would work for guiding the machine along but you would not be able to see through it to position it.
Old 01-28-2014, 02:33 PM

Why not cut pkexiglass instead of tools? Smoother, clear and less sanding. I di woodworking too and think u would use same tools.
Old 01-28-2014, 03:25 PM
yel

what about panto boards out of the plywood
Old 01-29-2014, 04:22 AM