Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Machine or Hand applique, which do you use most for embellishment? >

Machine or Hand applique, which do you use most for embellishment?

Machine or Hand applique, which do you use most for embellishment?

Old 06-01-2013, 03:04 PM

Default Machine or Hand applique, which do you use most for embellishment?

Would like to learn to appliqué to add another dimension to my quilting. Which do you use most and if there is a reason you prefer one over the other I would so appreciate hearing why. Many thanks!
Old 06-01-2013, 06:43 PM

I'm new at applique (of any kind), having only worked both machine and hand a few times. Just today I did a practice piece of needle turn and I can only say that I need to do more practice pieces

I've done machine applique the following ways:

Raw edge - raw finish - machine finished the edges with a straight stitch using clear poly thread. This was by far the easiest applique method I've done but to my eye is limited to quilts that don't demand a crisp finished look. I used it on a landscape quilt and on a quilt where the applique piece was a life size black silhouette of a standing woman. The technique was perfect for the landscape quilt (but bear in mind that if you have a lot of small pieces your quilt will be quite heavy with all the extra thread), and the only reason I used it for the silhouette was in the interest of time. The landscape quilt the pieces were stuck to a muslin foundation with a glue stick and once I was happy with the placement I sewed the edges. The silhouette I used a fusible web to adhere the applique to the quilt top.