Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Machine Quilting Info Requested >

Machine Quilting Info Requested

Machine Quilting Info Requested

Old 02-15-2011, 08:02 AM

After several years of self taught quilting, I decided to take an official how-to-quilt-class. I like the class and the teacher is careful to stress that there are many ways to do things and that she is teaching us her favorite way.

We are at the step of machine quilting the sandwich and I find I've got some issues.

Issue 1: she suggested we pin baste and leave the pins open. I have usually spray basted and I like it a lot or used a basting gun, which I also like. I find that I'm getting a rain of safety pins everywhere since I need to mark the quilt on the floor and she suggested using soap and marking only 3 or 4 lines at a time, which makes sense since moving the quilt removes the quilting lines pretty easily. We are doing a diagonal 3 1/2" quilting. I'm wondering if the rain of safety pins is because my quilt was the last of 3 that 3 of us did and at least one of us became more enchanted with playing with free motion quilting then helping me pin mine, or whether that might be standard. Has any one else tried this method and what is your experience? Also, I pretty much am removing the pins as I go figuring that the quilting lines will hold it enough for the rest of the quilting. I am leaving what I can tho because I don't want to get tucks on the back and haven't so far. So remove pins or leave?