Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Machine Quilting Question >

Machine Quilting Question

Machine Quilting Question

Old 07-22-2014, 06:02 AM

Smile Machine Quilting Question

Hi Everyone! I am working on three baby quilts. I would like to machine quilt them with easy quilting, nothing fancy. I do not have a walking foot or a free motion quilting foot and cannot afford them right now. So my question is, what foot can I use to machine quilt? I am going to do stitch in the ditch I think or some other straight line quilting. My other option: My Mom has a darning foot for her machine which she calls her quilting foot. I looked in the book that came with her machine and they don't mention using it for quilting. In any case, I think it might work for FMQ, but I have never done that before, although I do want to learn. Other than tying the quilts, which I don't want to do and can't afford to send them out to be quilting, what can I do? Any advice is welcome! I have a Janome DC2007LE. My friends have Janome's as well but different models. Perhaps one of their walking feet will fit on mine? Thanks!
Old 07-22-2014, 06:14 AM
Power Poster

The most important thing about a walking foot is that it keeps both layers together passing thru the thread and needle. I have found myself quilting small items like mug rugs with just a normal foot.
Old 07-22-2014, 06:16 AM

Before I got my walking foot, I quilted 2 baby quilts with my regular pressure foot and it worked fine for straight line quilting. The only issue is that your layers may shift a little since the bottom one next to the feed dogs will move quicker than the top layer next to the pressure fooT--but if you use lots of pins or basting you can do it just fine. For some reason I think I have seen the term darning foot used interchangeably with quilting foot--is it a round foot? Might work just fine for FMQ but am not sure.
Old 07-22-2014, 06:21 AM

Originally Posted by Jeanne S View Post