Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Machine quilting thread >

Machine quilting thread

Machine quilting thread

Old 12-06-2014, 06:32 AM

Default Machine quilting thread

Hello all! I am in a bind. I did not plan ahead and realized two days ago I hadn't ordered yhread to machine quilt a quilt I'm making for Christmas. I normally use aurifil for the piecing and top or isacord. I'm new to quilting anyway. I ran to jo Anns and bought the cotton gutterman. Is this ok to use? I have a local quilt store that sells mettler but fell mettler is expensive (I had a coupon ) will this be ok or any other suggestions? Thanks!!
Old 12-06-2014, 06:34 AM

Most people will tell you to test it in your machine on a test fabric with the batting. If it works, go for it.
Old 12-06-2014, 06:53 AM

I've used Gutterman and liked it, it's a good quality thread. But Barb is absolutely correct ... sew on scraps first!!

Note ... even if I am going to use a thread I am used to using to quilt something, I still will make test sandwiches with the same fabric (at least on the top - to check if I like the color), same batting (important!), same thread, same needle, and same motif that I plan on quilting ... whether I am quilting on a domestic or a long arm (for the long arm I simply place a piece of scrap fabric along the outer edge of spare batting/backing).
Old 12-06-2014, 07:10 AM

I use Gutermann thread all the time for piecing and machine quilting and really like it. Sews without a lot of lint and rarely a thread breakage.
Old 12-06-2014, 07:18 AM

For me it depends on the machine I am using. My Bernina is pretty picky about thread, but my Singers that I used to use will sew with any thread. Keep testing them out on your machine and soon enough you will know what she likes and what she doesn't like.
Old 12-06-2014, 07:46 AM
Power Poster