Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
machine recomendations >

machine recomendations

machine recomendations

Old 10-23-2014, 03:17 PM

Default machine recomendations

hello, newbie here. I have been looking for the perfect sewing machine for a couple of years now and my most recent failure has been the brother cs6000i sounded as if the needle was hitting something underneath after only 20 minutes of regular sewing. So I am looking for recommendations for a sewing/quilting machine with"cruise control" variable speed setting for around $150.
Old 10-23-2014, 03:21 PM

Sorry to hear your machine is misbehaving. Unfortunately, like with cars and appliances, you often get what you pay for. I'd save up and buy a used Bernina. That's what I did, and have never regretted it. Good luck with your search!
Old 10-23-2014, 03:38 PM

I agree with Terry, buy a Bernina. It is the only machine made where it has always been made, Switzerland. All the others are farmed out to third world countries for manufacture.
Old 10-23-2014, 05:50 PM
Power Poster

I would go to a Viking, bernina or janome dealer and look at used machines. Often, if you buy from a dealer, they provide a limited warranty and some instruction.
Old 10-23-2014, 06:05 PM

look for the older kenmores. they are all metal and solid. they sew very well, you can get those with "fancy" stitches built in or one with cams. very quiet compared to my inexpensive brother. strong motor. Can often be found in thrift stores for around 40 dollars. My mothers was bought new in 1973 and is still sewing strong. You don't need a new computerized fancy machine to do great work. The older machines do great and since they are all metal and don't have a computer, they rarely truly "break".
Old 10-23-2014, 06:14 PM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by Michellesews View Post