Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: machines for FMQ

  1. #1
    Senior Member annesthreads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    919
    Following on from my last post, about my battles with FMQ, does anyone have a fairly recent machine that is good for FMQ? I still need to be sure that my present problems are the machine rather than my technique, which I'm working on at the moment, but if that IS the case, then I need a new machine - I've wasted countless hours that could have been spent sewing struggling to find the tension that will work. I'm completely open-minded about what machine: would be very happy with a very simple one if it would only do FMQ - my Janome has all the other bells and whistles I need. Or I would pay for something like the Aurora if I was convinced that would answer the problem. I don't want one of the big ones that are moving towards being industrial machines -don't feel that I have the know-how to deal with one of those - but if anyone has a domestic machine that they LOVE for FMQ, please tell me!

  2. #2
    Super Member Quiltforme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Beautiful Washington state!
    Posts
    3,344
    See if you can find a sew and vacuum store sometimes they have free classes to teach you your machine then they can help with tension issues with the fmq I don't know your machine but I know the sew and vac near me lets you bring the machine in to get help.

  3. #3
    Senior Member annesthreads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    919
    I'm in the UK, and I don't think we have Sew and Vac here. I've taken the machine back to the dealer more than once, and have talked to Janome. The dealer says it must be me that's the problem and that I can't expect perfect FMQ (OK, but I think I can expect better than every stitch underneath showing the top thread!), Janome say use embroidery thread - which does help, but I don't want to be so restricted when there are so many fabulous quilting threads available. Am I being unreasonable?

  4. #4
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    6,976
    Blog Entries
    1
    See if you can post some pictures of the problem. Pictures tell the experts on the board so much more than descriptions. They might be able to give you some better advice if they could see the problem.

  5. #5
    Super Member quiltmaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    In Hiding
    Posts
    1,229
    I believe any machine has the ablity to allow the user to FMQ. If you have a manual and it doesn't specifically have an area for FMQ but does for darning....then you would apply the darning directions for setting your machine and then be able to FMQ. FMQ does take a lot of practice but is so worth it...make yourself some sandwich squares to practice on so you can gain confidence in your abilities. If you are getting loopies on the top then it is the tension on your bobbin...conversly if they are on the bottom it is your top tension that need adjusting. Again, check in your manual for darning and that should help you eliminate the problem. (hope I am saying this correctly)

  6. #6
    Super Member carslo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    soCal
    Posts
    1,345
    Blog Entries
    4
    I just got a Husqavarna 830 and I was using it to FM last night for the first time, it was like beautiful the large throat area and it just skimmed around. I need to perfect my techinque but it was amazing.
    Janet

  7. #7
    Senior Member annesthreads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    919
    Quote Originally Posted by carslo
    I just got a Husqavarna 830 and I was using it to FM last night for the first time, it was like beautiful the large throat area and it just skimmed around. I need to perfect my techinque but it was amazing.
    Janet
    I've just collected my Mum's 50 year old Husqvarna from the repair shop and have tried FMQ on that - and it worked! No gizmos, not even matching threads, and I produced perfectly adequate stitching with no loops. So it's not just me!

  8. #8
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    6,976
    Blog Entries
    1
    Isn't it nice to know it's not just you?

  9. #9
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albany, Oregon
    Posts
    10,704
    I agree that the Janome should be able to do FMQ, and am glad your mom's Husqvarna is working for you. I have a Bernine 440QE, and the Bernina Stitch Regulator (BSR) makes free motion a breeze.

  10. #10
    Senior Member annesthreads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    919
    Quote Originally Posted by dunster
    I agree that the Janome should be able to do FMQ, and am glad your mom's Husqvarna is working for you. I have a Bernine 440QE, and the Bernina Stitch Regulator (BSR) makes free motion a breeze.
    The Bernina is my dream machine! But it's so expensive that I think I must look at the alternatives too. Do you find that the throat space is big enough for larger quilts?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.