Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Maybe It's Time for a New Machine >

Maybe It's Time for a New Machine

Maybe It's Time for a New Machine

Old 04-25-2017, 04:15 PM

Default Maybe It's Time for a New Machine

I have an Elna 8007. It's about 15 years old. Lately, it has been doing things like giving me error codes, starting with the needle in the down position, then the other day I turned it on and the whole machine was vibrating hard and making a terrible noise. I shut it off immediately. I waited, then turned it on and it's been fine since. Well, with the exception of the occasional start with the needle down. I'm not sure what is happening, but I wonder if it's starting to go. I mean machines do get old. I have a plan to take it in this week. Does anyone out there have an Elna 8007, and has this happened to you? I've been looking at new machines, but wow, they sure are pricey! I hope they can fix it. Thanks in advance!
Old 04-25-2017, 04:40 PM

I have no experience with your machine specifically but I suspect it's time for a tune up - which you have scheduled. I'd be devastated if my Viking 950 was giving up the ghost...I love this machine.

Yes, new machines are expensive. Given that, if I needed to sew, I do have my featherweight and if push comes to shove, could get the 66 up and running. Granted, I'd hate to give up some of the features of my computerized machines but the old girls just 'keep on ticking'.
Old 04-25-2017, 05:58 PM

Get a repair estimate then decide if you want to fix it or not.
Having said that, I see nothing wrong with just getting a new one.
Old 04-25-2017, 06:59 PM

It might be time for a tune up. Fifteen years isn't that old for a good machine. My Bernina is 20 years old now and still going strong. I've had a few repair bills over the years, and I do take it in every year or so for a tune up. I'm hoping to get many more years of use out of it.
Old 04-25-2017, 08:23 PM

Originally Posted by cashs_mom View Post