Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Mckenna Ryan patterns/changing colors >

Mckenna Ryan patterns/changing colors

Mckenna Ryan patterns/changing colors

Old 10-03-2011, 01:12 PM

http://www.amazon.com/McKenna-Pine-N.../dp/B001SAVHN0

I have a chance to get this pattern set at a very good price,less than half of what they go for. My question is how do I go about even picking fabrics for something like this? I am not fond of pastels and would like to make this in more natural colors. Am I way out of my league here? I am a scrappy quilter so I am not good with colors and tend to get overwhelmed with color selection. Do batiks naturally blend together? I do love this quilt and have for a long time but would never pay 90 bucks for a set.
Old 10-03-2011, 01:35 PM

I'm not into pastels either and if I were doing something like this I would use the colors that are found in nature. It will make this quilt look completely different. I'd do one section at a time and go from there. I'd really like to see it in other colors, it should be very striking. It is lovely as it is but color choices change thing so much.
Old 10-03-2011, 01:41 PM

I paid around $160 just for the patterns....and I am collecting some of her suggested fabrics but will also use scraps as I too like deeper tones in my quilts.
Old 10-03-2011, 06:42 PM

Good luck finishing the beautiful quilt.
Old 10-03-2011, 06:46 PM

Nice and the woodsy colors would b great
Old 10-03-2011, 06:48 PM

I was able to buy this whole series from a dear gal on here.. I also posted wanting to buy landscape fabrics, and another wonderful lady sent me 2 huge boxes of fabrics! I haven't started on the quilt yet, but I plan to just make it using my own fabric choices. As JCL said, I am going to try to use more of the colors of nature, and more like in Fall...I do think it is lovely as it is, but I just like to put my own "spin" on things.