Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Meandering Quilting

I'm new to FMQ and trying out meandering quilting for the first time. Am I right to say that for meandering, it's just a series of S-shaped curves?

Is there a specific direction I should be moving the quilt? Up to down, left to right etc? I'm not moving in a fixed direction and sometimes crossed the lines accidentally. I also can't see where my hands are going and sometimes ended up in an awkward spot.

Does it matter how many times we start/end the stitches? Is it necessary to start/end only once on the entire quilt? As I can't really figure out where I'm moving the needle, I'm sometimes forced to end the stitches when I end at the same spot and had to start again in a new position.

Do I always need to start quilting in the middle of the quilt, or do I quilt from left to right?

I'm using a variegated thread for the top. Is this preferred over a neutral colour thread?

Wish I could help but need help myself.

Check out Leah Day at daystyledesigns.com she has lots of great tips. She can explain it a lot better then I ever could, English being my second language. Good luck. :thumbup:

meandering can be anything---meandering across your quilt- wavy lines- loop-d-loops, stars, flowers, meandering along.
    stippling is when no line touches or crosses.

you can do continuous line designs (where you do not ((see)) the starts/stops) or you can quilt each design individually- which ever you want- it's your project

if you like varigated threads and they are working for you in your machine by all means use them- they add wonderful movement and color to quilts.