Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Metro Thread

  1. #1
    Super Member natalieg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    1,437

    Metro Thread

    Does anyone use Metro Embroidery Thread? If so, do you like it? I thought it was working great, bought a hundred spools only to find out my machien doesn't like it. Not sure if it is my machine or the thread, but one of them is being picky!
    Proud Navy Mom!
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/ChatterBugQuilts?ref=pr_shop

  2. #2
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    15,978
    Sometimes it is the dye in the threads. I have trouble with breakage on some colors, while others stitch fine.
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, and 4 crazy cats!

  3. #3
    Junior Member shawnan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    144
    Blog Entries
    1
    I don't use it, but I have friends that have the same make of machine that I do and they have been very happy with the Metro thread. I've considered getting some, but haven't yet. Actually machines vary even within the same manufacturer as far as threads. Have you made some minor adjustments, like maybe a different needle?

    Nancy
    Last edited by shawnan; 02-03-2012 at 09:18 PM. Reason: spelling
    Nancy (Go Big Red)
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Great things have been done for me,
    and I am filled with joy.

  4. #4
    Super Member natalieg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    1,437
    I have tried different things. My problem seems to be with the medium and small alphabets. I don't think I noticed a big difference with the pictures so much, but I am considering changing to Isacord. It seems to work better with the small and medium alphabets.
    I seem to do fine, then it messes up. I try to check out everything, rethread top and bottom thread and all that, check for lint. Embroider and it may work fine, may not. Can leave it for a day or so, come back and it might work fine. I only seem to have the problem on the two alphas. Took it to the repairman, he has looked at it, adjusted the tension and it works fine...for a short time. ugh.....
    and I now have 100 spools of metro....
    Proud Navy Mom!
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/ChatterBugQuilts?ref=pr_shop

  5. #5
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albany, Oregon
    Posts
    10,685
    I use it in my longarm. Love it!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Salt Lake City area
    Posts
    308
    I have some for my embroidery machine. It is thinner than the more expensive threads like Isacord or Robinson-Anton. I think it is only 2 ply, not 3 ply. It worked ok in my single needle, but I don't like the coverage. My multi-needle machine only likes it if I run at a slow speed, 600-700 spm instead of my normal 850-900. It's very inexpensive, but I think you get what you pay for.

    Pam

  7. #7
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    3,068
    I have never heard of that brand Metro before.
    Sewbeadit
    W. Washington

  8. #8
    Junior Member Xtgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    286
    I bought the whole line for my Babylock...I like the look, price and haven't had any issues with it.i also like Marathon.
    The Potomac Quilter
    Innova 26 with Lightning Stitch and Autopilot

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bradenton,Florida and Lincoln, Michigan
    Posts
    472
    Blog Entries
    1
    I bought a huge amount of it on sale - initially thought that I had made a terrible mistake (use it in my Janome MC11000) as the thread would shred when I was loading my needle. Figured out somehow that if I don't use the tthread cutter until after the needle is threaded it stopped that issue. Also, it seems to tangle if I have the thread on the machine thread spool. I now use one of the table top thread holders and the tangle issue is no longer a problem.
    Of all the things I've lost I miss my mind the most!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1
    Does anyone know if or how you can convert your colors from metro to closest color of a different company. I want to be able to put all the colors that I have from metro and see what the closest match is. Does anyone have any information on this?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.