Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Mistake in pattern/reading pattern >

Mistake in pattern/reading pattern

Mistake in pattern/reading pattern

Old 11-17-2010, 09:09 AM

I started cutting my next quilt last night. It is a free pattern called Leah's Quilt from a fabric site. One of the directions said cut 9" + 1/4", so I cut 9 1/4". It didn't feel right, so I quit cutting and this morning made a block. The 1/4" is not needed. I had to trim it off. It's a very simple pattern and my square is perfect w/o the extra 1/4".

As I am rather new to quilting (none at all in 15 years), I guess I'd like someone to tell me to use my own judgement. I am far from new to sewing.

Thank you. Judy

BTW, I did cut a stack of strips incorrectly. I have a reversal problem and cut some 7 1/4 instead of 7 1/2. I hope I have enough fabric, but if worse comes worse, I'll have a couple of extra seams.
Old 11-17-2010, 09:14 AM

So sorry that happened to you! I've discovered, the hard way, to only cut one of everything to make one block. Then when I'm sure the pattern is right, I go ahead and do the rest. It makes it harder sometimes to figure out the pattern, but it sure saves heartache! I've mostly found errors in patterns that are online.....both for quilting AND for crocheting!
Old 11-17-2010, 09:22 AM

Thank you for the confirmation that's it's not me. This is such a simple pattern that I have to be correct. I just wondered if there was some quilting code I wasn't aware of for the plus sigh in there.

I am loving this website and all you helpful quilters. It's making my return to the sewing machine easy.
Old 11-17-2010, 09:33 AM
Power Poster

The advice to make a test block is excellent! Well worth the time to do.

Some patterns have errors in them. Some templates are inaccurate.

And sometimes :oops: there is "operator error"
Old 11-17-2010, 10:00 AM