Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
mistakes I've made >

mistakes I've made

mistakes I've made

Old 11-07-2012, 06:58 PM

Unhappy mistakes I've made

I have been quilting for many years and I made a dumb mistake. A friend asked me to make a quilt for her new grandchild due in January. She brought nice fabric at a good quilt shop. After I cut all the pieces, I remembered that I should have washed the fabric first. I put the quilt together and it looked fine and for some strange reason I decided to wash the top and back before quiliting. I used a gentel cycle. What a mistake. There was so much lint that I thought the seams would not hold. I checked all the seams and they looked fine but it upset me, hoping that it will hold up after I machine quilt it. When I quilt it I plan to do some extra quilting at all the seams to insure that it holds together. I know I will never make that mistake again.
Old 11-07-2012, 07:02 PM

I did that too. It was quite a lesson to learn. I had to repair two seams. Ugh! Glad your seams all held up!
Old 11-07-2012, 08:16 PM
Power Poster

Some lessons are hard to learn but those are the ones you don't forget.
Old 11-07-2012, 08:47 PM

And glad it didn't bleed. I embroidered a table topper and had little blue dots on it for quilting, was supposed to wash out. I had something spilled on a corner (coffee I think) so I washed it to make sure the coffee didn't stain it, since I didn't want to do all that work for a stained end result. You guessed it. The stain came out,but so did some of the little blue dots LOL
Old 11-07-2012, 11:01 PM

It is for this very reason that I dont wash until after all quilting has been done. My favourite mistake is either getting a peice of fabric or even a whole block up-side down and only realising it after everything is so advanced that it would take forever to correct.
Old 11-08-2012, 02:27 AM