Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Mixing Needle and Bobbin Thread?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    69
    Can you mix needle and bobbin thread?

    I was using mainstays 100% polyester thread for needle and bobbin until my needle thread ran out. So I switched to the new Coats and Clark 100% mercerized cotton I bought a while back.

    And then my machine started acting funky :(

  2. #2
    Super Member bluteddi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    3,128
    some machines are pickey....mine , luckily, will take msot anything... I interchange threads as the need dictates

  3. #3
    Power Poster cjomomma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Murray, Ky. Looking for a nice cushy pillow to rest my head on!
    Posts
    16,526
    Blog Entries
    2
    I think it depends on the machine. Mine takes any kind of thread, mixed or not.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    69
    My changing the needle thread is the only reason I can think of for my machine having a fit all of a sudden.

    I had been sewing, ran out of thread, rethreaded it with the new thread and started sewing and it just sounded different to me.

    I'll have to find another bobbin so I can wind the new thread on it.

  5. #5
    Super Member fivepaws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    1,932
    I find that the C and C from Mexico is not worth the money. I don't like it.

  6. #6
    a regular here MegsAnn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,342
    Is the new thread a different weight than you were using? If so you may need to adjust the tension.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    69
    I have no clue and don't even know how I would tell.

    Eventually after sewing enough it stopped making the weird noise it was making (never did figure that out) and I played with the tension some with 2 different thread colors. Ended up putting my machine on 3 because that seemed to not pucker the fabric at all. Although I could see the bobbin thread on the top of the fabric, but never saw the top thread on the bottom of the fabric.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5,840
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by MegsAnn
    Is the new thread a different weight than you were using? If so you may need to adjust the tension.
    thats what you need to do..adjust the tension. i use bottom line in my bobbin and whatever i want or have available in the top.

    go to superior threads and watch the video on threads..very good info.

    http://www.superiorthreads.com/education/

  9. #9
    Senior Member shirley35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Marion, Iowa
    Posts
    518
    Blog Entries
    2
    My Viking does not like C and C, so I rarely use it.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alturas, CA
    Posts
    7,929
    I usually use the same thread for top and bottom.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.