Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: My Longarm is skipping stitches

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SW Minnesota
    Posts
    701
    The past 2 weeks I quilted two quilts--but with frustration. I would be quilting and then get to a certain spot and it would start giving me long skipped stitches and then switch back to regular stitching. The skipped stitches occured only when moving in a horizontal direction. My husband looked at the cabling while I was quilting and watching the cords and moving them around and we got them placed to where it wouldn't do it. But every new time I go to use the machine, it does the same thing. Then I move around the cords until I get them placed in a position where it doesn't do that. Yesterday I spent 2 hours moving around the cords and quilting on practice material I had off to the side of the real quilt. I finally must have gotten the cords laying in a position where my stitching was working ok and it wasn't doing skipped stitches in a certain area, and I dared to start doing the real quilt. I just got this Tin Lizzie 18 LS right before Xmas and it didn't do this the first couple weeks when I was using practice material to learn my machine but now it has started doing this and today I did one pass on the quilt and then on the second row, it started doing it again and I can't seem to get the cable moved around correctly for it to work. The Dealer who sold me the longarm recently had the same problem and she said it may either be the Y cable connected to the stitch regulator sensors or it is the sensor that regulates the horizontal sewing. (That's what it was for her). She has ordered me new parts but now I need to wait a week for them to come. Has anyone else encountered this problem with the Tin Lizzie? And if you did, was it the sensor or cable connected to it? or was it something else? I a so frustrated and just want it fixed so I can Quilt! I would appreciate any suggestions anyone has the might fix this problem. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Member MaryStoaks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    La Quinta, CA
    Posts
    3,900
    You might try quilting with the stitch length regulator turned off. The stitch length will be shorter or longer depending on how fast you move. I did and it made me a better quilter with more control. Keep you eye on the needle! At least you could quilt untill your new cords come.

  3. #3
    Super Member KathyAire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    3,410
    I don't know about a TinLizzie, but when my DSM skips stitches it is usually time to change the needle.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    271
    Sometimes you can get skipped stitches if your fabric is pulled too tight - try loosening it a bit and see if that helps.

  5. #5
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6,818
    Blog Entries
    3
    i don't have a longarm, so this is a shot in the dark.

    your dealer is most likely on the right track.

    just in case, though, i thought it'd throw a tidbit into the mix.

    when my machine skips stitches while i'm working on a quilt sandwich, it nearly always means i need to switch to a bigger needle.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    643
    I just bought my own Tin Lizzie LS (used), and would hazard a guess that it's the encoders, especially since it happens only when moving horizontally. I know a lot of people have had encoder problems with the LS, and supposedly the DLS (latest Tin Lizzie) is supposed to resolve a lot of those problems -- but I can't afford to upgrade my machine right now.

    My circuit board was bad on my machine, and I got a new one within a week; all is good now, so hopefully the new parts will fix your problems!

  7. #7
    Super Member brushandthimble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    North of Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    3,630
    when I first got my HQ i had that problem and was told to push down (or bend if needed) the wheel for the SR. DH helped me and no other problems in the last 3 years.

  8. #8
    Super Member sewwhat85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    6,737
    great ideas

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SW Minnesota
    Posts
    701
    Quote Originally Posted by MaryStoaks
    You might try quilting with the stitch length regulator turned off. The stitch length will be shorter or longer depending on how fast you move. I did and it made me a better quilter with more control. Keep you eye on the needle! At least you could quilt untill your new cords come.
    i did finish the quilt that day using Manual mode. But I didn't like doing it that way. It seemed hard for me to concentrate on both getting the design perfect and concentrating the same time on trying to move the machien with a consistent speed for cosistent stitches. It did turn out ok but I will not do another quilt until the problem is solved. The Dealer had me switch the sensors around to see if the vertical stitch now switched --but it didn't --it still skipped on the horizontal. So he's thinking it it the Y cord that connects to the sensor . The cord is on order and hopefully that will solve the problem.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SW Minnesota
    Posts
    701
    Quote Originally Posted by KathyAire
    I don't know about a TinLizzie, but when my DSM skips stitches it is usually time to change the needle.
    I changed the needle to a new needle right away to see if that was the problem--but unfortunately it wasn't.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.