Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need advice >

Need advice

Need advice

Old 09-01-2016, 08:35 AM

Default Need advice

I have been thinking about getting a EQ-7 to help me design quilts. However it is pricey and wonder if it would really be worth it. I am new to quilting and have only done 4. I am wanting to do a quilt panel quilt with panel in the center but cannot seem to figure how to lay out. I have the panel which I put a 2 1/2 inch boarder around it so far measures 26 x 44. I would like the quilt to measure 54" by 80". My problem is I cannot figure out how large to make each block and have this center in the quilt. Not good with graphs and drawing patterns. I do have a design wizard program on my computer but cannot add a picture of the panel to work this out. What do you all think? I have taught computer classes and thought I might be able to pick up working with the EQ-7 quickly but after readying several reviews not sure what to do. I just want to do quilting and have fun at it instead of feeling like a chore to complete.

Thanks for advice
Old 09-01-2016, 09:05 AM

You may want to add another border to make your center divisible in both directions by the block size you want to add. Like make it 30 X 48 finished, don't forget to add your seam allowance to this. Then you could add 6 inch blocks around. I don't have any input on the EQ.
Old 09-01-2016, 09:11 AM

Location: Asheville, previously Lake Vermilion, Tarpon Springs, Duluth, St Paul, Soudan

eQ has a stripped down version for much less. Look at it; you can always upgrade later.
Old 09-01-2016, 09:17 AM

I've done quite a few quilts but I don't vary from the directions.
Had to have the program & haven't used it yet. Would still like to though.
Old 09-01-2016, 09:40 AM

Personally, I find that graph paper, a ruler, and some colored pencils work best for mapping out designs. If you're doing curved pieces add a compass or some different-sized stencils.
Old 09-01-2016, 09:49 AM
Power Poster