Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need Help with Auto Thread Cutter on Brother 1500

  1. #1
    Super Member lalaland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Yakima, WA
    Posts
    2,333
    I purchased a new Brother 1500 and I love it! Had it's quirks but after I got all the tension issues worked out, sews perfectly EXCEPT that when I use the auto thread cutter, it cuts my bobbin thread too short and I lose it.

    Anyone have any suggestions as to how to sort this out?

    I keep the presser foot down and I've tried cutting the threads in the needle down position and the needle up position, but it cuts my bobbin thread too short either way.

  2. #2
    Super Member hobo2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    2,691
    Blog Entries
    1
    I lift the presser foot pull the material out a little, put the presser foot down and hit the button. That way I have about an inch of thread.

  3. #3
    Super Member lalaland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Yakima, WA
    Posts
    2,333
    Quote Originally Posted by hobo2000
    I lift the presser foot pull the material out a little, put the presser foot down and hit the button. That way I have about an inch of thread.
    Tried that but what I get, even if I pull the material out 3 or 4 inches, is a bobbin tail so short I have to use tweezers to pull the thread up to an acceptable length. But at least I am getting something to grab hold of.

  4. #4
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    6,734
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have that machine. I can never see my bobbin thread. When Istart sewing, it stitches just fine. If I pull want to pull my thread up through the fabric to start quilting, it always comes up just fine, but generally I don't see it.

  5. #5
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,358
    Blog Entries
    20
    Mine cuts too short also. I have a friend that has the same machine, and hers cuts too short also. I would like to know the answer...

  6. #6
    Moderator Up North's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    North East Lower peninsula of Michigan
    Posts
    6,145
    Mine cuts short but have never had a problem with it.

  7. #7
    Super Member oatw13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,750
    The Brother machines are supposed to be like that. The machine does not require a tail of bobbin thread to start stitching. If you don't want it so short, about all you can do is just stop using the auto cutter and do it the old fashioned way with scissors.

    I understand that sometimes you want to hold onto it or pull the bobbin thread up to the top. I just use my scissors. I always used to anyway. lol

  8. #8
    MrsRodgers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Coal Creek Canyon, CO
    Posts
    33
    Yup. My Innovis does it, too, so you just don't use the thread cutter button.

  9. #9
    Super Member lalaland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Yakima, WA
    Posts
    2,333
    [quote=oatw13]The Brother machines are supposed to be like that. The machine does not require a tail of bobbin thread to start stitching.

    Ok, I thought you were confusing my machine with an embroidery machine but you are RIGHT! I did some FMQ, cut the threads, let the bobbin thread stay where it was, started FMQ again and it worked great!! Bobbin thread was there on the other side when I was done.

    What a concept!! Thank you!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.