Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need help with hand quilting 3D pinwheel >

Need help with hand quilting 3D pinwheel

Need help with hand quilting 3D pinwheel

Old 07-19-2011, 07:46 AM

I kept seeing all the wonderful 3d pinwheel quilts on here and just had to try one. I've started on my squares, but am at a loss as to how I could hand quilt it. None of my machines are good at machine quilting...they're too old, not strong enough, the walking foot makes thread knots, etc.. Any ideas on what I could do by hand to show off the pinwheels?
Old 07-19-2011, 08:11 AM

I'm new to quilting as well and my current machine that has a walking foot hangs up at intersections but I just finished my granddaughtes 3-d pinwheel. I stitched in a ditch around the blocks and down the middle both sideways and top to bottom of the pinwheel blocks; I also quilted around each pinwheel following the design of the pinwheel. Since it was for a child and would see the washing machine alot I wanted to to do more than the stitch in the ditch so that is why I did around the pinwheel. I'm considering putting stencil designs at each block intersection in the sashing and quilting that as well.
Old 07-19-2011, 08:33 AM

Location: Ohio, the land of 4 seasons. sometimes all in the same week!

all good ideas from romanojg!
Old 07-19-2011, 08:53 AM

Originally Posted by cherrio
all good ideas from romanojg!
thank you , thank you, thank you. I have some of those once in a while. Have a great day.
Old 07-19-2011, 04:09 PM

Originally Posted by romanojg