Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need help - what do I FMQ on this quilt - new FMQ'er >

Need help - what do I FMQ on this quilt - new FMQ'er

Need help - what do I FMQ on this quilt - new FMQ'er

Old 12-30-2015, 04:54 AM

Default Need help - what do I FMQ on this quilt - new FMQ'er

Yesterday I posted a picture of my first piece that I have done anything other than SITD or straight line quilting on. I have been practicing off and on for 3 or 4 years but just never had the nerve to do it on a real item. I finally did a small wall hanging (the picture I posted yesterday) and now I have a baby quilt that I'd like to FMQ - just want to do some stippling on. I already did a serpentine stitch around all the blocks and now I want to fill in with the stippling but what do I do about the area inside the animals - will it be okay to just leave that area unquilted? I am sure I would really mess it up if I tried to echo quilt around them - not so good at that. Any help or ideas would be great. The baby was born a week ago today - a great granddaughter.
Thank you!
[ATTACH=CONFIG]539054[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails image.jpeg  
Old 12-30-2015, 05:23 AM

i myself would do a little meandering around the animals.
Old 12-30-2015, 05:40 AM

Very cute quilt. Outlining the appliques would really look good for the back side (although tedious and time consuming for sure). I like Joset's suggestion of meandering ... however, if you can't outline the appliques, I would probably do a medium to large meander pattern all over the quilt. Good luck!
Old 12-30-2015, 05:43 AM
Power Poster

Your quilt has the look of an antique quilt so I would crosshatch the background as they did in those days. Very cute animals with a Sunbonnet Sue in the center. Very Cute.
Old 12-30-2015, 05:53 AM
Power Poster