Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need tips for using Janome MC6600 alphabet feature

  1. #1
    Senior Member Bubblegum0077's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    795
    I have been using my Janome 6600 machine for a while now and sometimes I make my labels with the alphabet feature on the machine. I thought it was me or my sewing technique, but there really isn't much to mess up when it comes to the applique part of the process. As expensive as this machine sold for, I am so totally beside myself that the letters just don't have an eye appealing look to them. The letters A, B, O, a, m in script or block just come out looking awful and unrecognizable. This is one feature Janome has to improve on because it's just not worth my time to waste on such a feature.

    Has anyone ever had this problem on their 6600? Or is this just the way this machine stitches the letters? Other than this feature, my machine runs smoothly, is clear of lint and is covered when not in use.

    Any suggestion? I am not sure about making any more labels because of how ugly they come out.

  2. #2
    Super Member Quiltforme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Beautiful Washington state!
    Posts
    3,344
    I tested the horizon and this was the key point for me to not buy it now granted the horizon is not an embroidery machine but I was not impressed with what it could do. Maybe go to the dealer and see if they can help my dealer has a great support staff who will stop what they are doing to help.

  3. #3
    Super Member KathyAire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    3,410
    I have a Baby Lock and some of my letters leave a lot to be desired. I don't think it's my machine. I think the designers added their own touch to the letters, kind of like some of those 'singers' adding their own touch to 'The Star-Spangled Banner' - you no longer can recognize the national anthem of the United States of America and now we can't recognize the letters of the alphabet.

  4. #4
    Super Member jdiane318's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    springfield, MO
    Posts
    2,438
    I have the 6600 and the lettering was not a major buying point with me. That is why I invested in the Janome 350E to make my beautiful labels with its embroidery.

  5. #5
    Senior Member connie_1936's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    mesa and payson, arizona
    Posts
    806
    Blog Entries
    3
    its probably not you or your machine. some letters do not sew well, espically if the are small. if you can try a diferent style font.

  6. #6
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6,823
    Blog Entries
    3
    are you using stablizer when you try to make the letters? it's quite important to do that when using a true embroidery machine. perhaps it's critical when using the 6600p alphabets, too.

  7. #7
    Super Member quilterella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Small town south of Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    1,702
    Blog Entries
    1
    As much as I love my Janome 6600, the lettering aspect is the pits. So, no, it's not you. I had the 6500 model as well and it is the same, as is the Horizon. Monogramming just isn't a great feature on these machines, therefore I make iron-on transfers that I colour and print on with pigma pens. I don't like embroidery enough to purchase another machine just to make labels, so, I improvise.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dubai UAE
    Posts
    386
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have the 66000 and agree the the alphabet is much to be desired. My machine is in another country at the moment but I will be trying it out using stabilizer or use some vilene to see if it improves the lettering.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    4
    Have you tried "Ask Jan" at:
    http://content.janome.com/index.cfm/...gCenter/AskJan
    It's set up by Janome to give you help with your machine. I've tried and it took a couple of days but I did get an answer that was helpful. If there is a fix suggest that they make one of their short videos with a demo. Good Luck

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.