Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Need your opinion on this long arm machine and frame.

  1. #1
    Senior Member hpylady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Elm City, N.C.
    Posts
    478
    My husband is going to buy me a longarm machine and frame after January 2010. He has been looking at the TL Queen Quilter 18", Grace Metal King 120" Aluminum Frame Encoders Set, Stitch Regulator, 1Handle Bar Control, 4 Clamps. After reading all of the info on this machine, it has everything I am interested in. It's price is $6,495.00. I was wondering, would this be a good longarm and frame for us to invest in.

    I have been reading your threads alot and I trust your opinions from other threads on this board. I have learned more from you girls and guys than alot of my books. I told my husband that I wanted to bring this up and get your opinions from your experiences. Or maybe, you know of a better set-up than this brand. Thank you for your comments and interest! :thumbup:

  2. #2
    Senior Member crashnquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, Missouri
    Posts
    567
    I don't know anything about the TinLizzy. But you might want to look at the MARKETPLACE ads on www.mqresource.com There is a HQ16 setup for sale. It's not mine but the gal that has the machine takes super good care of it. I have the HQ and LOVE IT. The machine is super low maintenance and very easy to use. No matter what machine you get, I strongly suggest getting a stitch regulator. They are priceless.

  3. #3
    Senior Member hpylady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Elm City, N.C.
    Posts
    478
    crashnquilt........Thank you so much for your quick reply. I am fixing to check this out right now soon as I am through with this message. I have been reading about the HQ16's also. It is good to know that you love yours. That is good feedback. Oh! and by the way, "Merry Christmas" and "Happy New Year"! :D

  4. #4
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,108
    Blog Entries
    1
    Is there anywhere close where you can go and test drive these machines?

  5. #5
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    10,012
    Blog Entries
    1
    I would suggest joining the homequiltingsystems group at http://groups.yahoo.com . That is a very lively, independent group of mostly longarm quilters and I'm sure some of them have experience with the setup you are describing. Check the website's file section for lots of information about machines and frames. It's such a big purchase, and there are so many machine/frame combinations available, it's a good idea to do your research before making a decision.

  6. #6
    Senior Member hpylady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Elm City, N.C.
    Posts
    478
    amma......My DH said there was a store in Raleigh N.C. which is 45 min. away from us for the TL Queen Quilter. I especially would like to know if anyone here on the board has one or knows someone who does to tell of its performance. Thanks!

  7. #7
    Senior Member hpylady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Elm City, N.C.
    Posts
    478
    Prism99......Thanks for the valuable info. I have been checking out the groups and I am gonna join one. You are a big help in directing me to this site. Thanks again!

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    1,115
    I have a Nolting setup. Check them out. Very strong and sturdy. Dan is the owner and there is Dan, the tech. They are both great.

  9. #9
    Senior Member luvstoquilt301's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    567
    This is my first post as I usually lurk while at work...lol.
    BUT I bought an HQ16 on Craigslist for $3,500.

    I watched ads for used stuff for 2 years before finally getting one that was in my budget. Check out your local places and you might find a great bargain.

    I would buy from Handiquilter new if I could afford it. I won a trip out there and they are fantastic to deal with.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    51
    I've been lurking for awhile and saw your question about the tl queen quilter 18 I bought mine in Aug. and really like it. I also bought the shirley stitcherII. Its taken a little time to learn how to use it, the directions were not very detailed but I'm getting use to it and like it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.