Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Need your opinions

  1. #1
    Member Mummy Quilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Evanston, IL
    Posts
    57

    Need your opinions

    Hi ladies,
    I want to order some curved quilting pins (I've been using regular safety pins up until now) and I don't know whether to order size 1 or size 2.
    Opinions?
    Also, is there a brand you prefer or would avoid?
    Thanks in advance!!
    - ​Before there was Prozac, there was quilting. -


    Happily quilting on a Brother Pacesetter 3001XL & Singer 9960 Quantum Stylist
    most recent acquisition: a Singer 66-16 {beautiful, but needs work!}

  2. #2
    Super Member hopetoquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,867
    I use the smaller ones and they work well for me. Sometimes I use the device that helps clip and unclip them...

  3. #3
    Super Member Sunnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Morgantown, PA area
    Posts
    1,240
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have the larger ones and love them.
    Sunnie
    a dog show & quilt addict
    www.buckhollow.net

  4. #4
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    23,983
    I use large safety pins and have for many years. They work for me.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    S. Texas
    Posts
    1,147
    I like the smaller ones. A quilt can get really heavy with the larger ones.

  6. #6
    Senior Member cmw0829's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA area
    Posts
    953
    I use the smaller #1 pins but that's what I was taught to use. "They" also say that the smaller pins leave smaller holes and since I quilt with a lot of batiks, think they're better for my use.

    The tool mentioned above is the Kwik Klip http://www.paulajeancreations.com/kwik-klip.html and I wouldn't use safety pins without it.

    I am thinking about trying pinmoors though since I have a couple of arthritic fingers that are making it more uncomfortable to use basting pins.

    Edit: You asked about brand. I use Dritz and they've been fine for me.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    dallas tx.
    Posts
    3,598
    Blog Entries
    3
    You can use a grapefruit spoon to help cliip the safety pins.

  8. #8
    Super Member Gail B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Smoky Lake, Alberta, Canada - Coolidge, AZ
    Posts
    1,005
    I use #2 curved pins and the Kwik Klip to fasten them. Works great for me.

  9. #9
    Super Member JudyTheSewer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Sparks, NV
    Posts
    1,105
    I use the small ones because Alex Anderson from Simply Quilts recommended them. I think the reason is that she thinks there is less of a chance to have shifting and puckering on the back during FMQ. Per her suggestions, I put LOTS in my quilt; about a hand width apart all over my quilt and I have never had a pucker in a backing. I never thought about the weight issue that Mucky mentioned by using the larger pins. I bet my quilts would be quite a bit heavier since I pin so densely.

  10. #10
    Member Mummy Quilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Evanston, IL
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by cmw0829 View Post
    The tool mentioned above is the Kwik Klip http://www.paulajeancreations.com/kwik-klip.html and I wouldn't use safety pins without it.
    brilliant - thanks for the link, this was going to be my next question! thanks!

    mucky, I never would have thought about the weight, but it totally makes sense.

    Judy, thanks for the tip!

    Thanks everyone for all of your replies, I really appreciate them

    off to check out this Kwik Klip thingy!!!
    - ​Before there was Prozac, there was quilting. -


    Happily quilting on a Brother Pacesetter 3001XL & Singer 9960 Quantum Stylist
    most recent acquisition: a Singer 66-16 {beautiful, but needs work!}

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.