Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
New Idea for embroidery >

New Idea for embroidery

New Idea for embroidery

Old 08-13-2009, 08:16 AM

I love it when I come up with a new, better way of doing something. Thought I would share, and maybe someone else has had the same problem. I was asked by a friend to embroider some fluffy towels. I have never done this before but I said sure! As they were very fluffy, I had trouble with the stitches burying under the pile. I tried embroidery stabilizer, Aqua Film that is designed to disolve with water, but left a gummy residue. And it was expensive. What a dilema. I had to come up with something! I thought of Glad Press and Seal you know, plastic wrap!!!! Cheap and it works like a charm.
Old 08-13-2009, 08:47 AM
Power Poster

Do you place it on top of the towel , directly under the needle/
this might be a stupid question, but I just got my machine and know very little about what I'm doing! :oops: :oops: :D
Old 08-13-2009, 08:58 AM
Power Poster

What a Great Idea!!! :D :D :D
Old 08-13-2009, 09:54 AM

Floriani and Inspira both make heat soluble toppers for just this type of machine embroidery, and they both work well. No water, and no muck :D I cut a piece a little bigger than the embroidery I'm doing (not the whole hoop size) and pin it in place, keeping the pins out of the way. One roll lasts a very long time for me. These stabilizer 'toppers' are designed to support the embroidery stitches and then melt away - if the iron doesn't get 'em (which it almost always does) then the heat of the dryer will the first time they get washed. I don't know what the Glad wrap that is left under the stitches will do when subjected to the dryer. :cry:
Old 08-13-2009, 11:53 AM
Power Poster

There was a previous thread about the press and seal and some people mentioned it gummed up their machine and others mentioned you may inadvertantly void the manufacturers warrantee if it does mess up the machine. Just thought I would mention it.