Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
New quilter >

New quilter

New quilter

Old 05-20-2014, 03:16 PM

Default New quilter

HI all, I am making my very first quilt! I have been sewing for 50 years just never made a quilt before. I have decided to make quilts for my kids for Christmas. I have finished one which is more of a comforter. My question is this: How many blades do you go through for one quilt? I am making a Bargello and I have used 3 of the 5 packs already, it is a very large quilt but my goodness if you spend $60.00 on blades for one quilt it makes the project kind of expensive. I guess I am hoping somebody has a trick or sharpening tool or a bargain site for buying them,,,thanks in advance for hopefully some help, Arlene
Old 05-20-2014, 03:27 PM
Power Poster

I do not know about sharpening them, but when mine start to "miss" a bit, I bear down harder because I do not want to put new ones in all the time. I am lucky that my sister gave me some, so I do feel too badly about eventually changing blades.

Several people in the group have given opinions about sharpening them. Hope someone sees this and has an answer on that part of it for you.
Old 05-20-2014, 03:35 PM

I don't change blades that often. I do the same as BOSTON1954, just bear down harder. I did get a special ruler that supposedly sharpens your blade as you cut, but it's not very see-through, and it's too hard for me to see my fabric under it.
Old 05-20-2014, 03:42 PM

I generally use one blade with each (queen sized) quilt and work a little harder at it as I go (unless working with flannel).
Old 05-20-2014, 03:59 PM