Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: New to Quilting

Blog Entries

New to Quilting

Hello,
    I am new to quilting and would like to know your thoughts on the Acc-cut machine that Joann's Fabric sells.

Thanks for the advice!

Blog Entries
    I have an Accuquilt Go Baby that I have only used twice. It was hard for me to use and I feel that there would be too much wasted material and I would rather cut my fabric manually. Lots of folks on the board use the Accuquilt cutters and love them.

I do not have one and it is not on my "want list". It seems sort of frivolous to me. There are lots of other "Necessities" to spend your money on. I think that you need to learn basics first like rotary cutting, piecing. I would spend my money on a good sewing machine before getting this.

Blog Entries
    Welcome from Michigan.
    i have the large Accucut Studio, but also use the Accucut GO! dies. My opinion is that there are 3 things that make a block accurate: Cutting, sewing and pressing. Anything that helps with these is worth it. If your cut is right on, your piecing is off to a good start. It is an investment, however. If you do lots of geometric quilts, the strip cutters are great. they also have lots of applique shapes, but you need to decide how much you would use a specific design. Note that your 40% off coupons are normally not applicable to the accucut cutter or dies at Jo-ann's. Check on line, you can often get a great deal. And finally, if you do a search on this board for Accucut GO, you will get lots of info.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings