Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
no matter how hard I try... >

no matter how hard I try...

no matter how hard I try...

Old 10-21-2010, 01:03 PM

I'm so discouraged. I'm still pretty new at this, so hopefully I will improve. It seems that no matter how carefully I measure and cut, measure 1/4" seams, etc. my cornerstone squares in my sashing do not line up with the row borders! Is it really so hard to get sashings to line up or am I missing something? Anyone else feel like this?
Old 10-21-2010, 01:08 PM

Yes, sometimes, I make them a tad bit bigger, it's always easier to cut them down then have to figure out why they don't fit.... :oops:
Old 10-21-2010, 01:10 PM

Try a strip of blue painters tape to mark your 1/4" sewing line on your machine. Painters tape doesn't leave sticky residue when you remove it. I measure 1/4" from my needle and apply the tape. It has helped me tremendously. Good luck and hang in there, it'll get better.
Old 10-21-2010, 01:22 PM
Power Poster

Measure your blocks to be sure they are the correct size, before you cut your sashing and cornerstones. If they are off even a little it will make things difficult to line up.
Old 10-21-2010, 01:28 PM
np3
Power Poster

Originally Posted by Sadiemae
Measure your blocks to be sure they are the correct size, before you cut your sashing and cornerstones. If they are off even a little it will make things difficult to line up.
This is key. And check to make sure you are really at 1/4 in.
Old 10-21-2010, 01:33 PM

It also depends on the stretch in the fabric too I have found. When I cut sashings, I try to cut then along the selvedge edge, not across the fabric (dont know the technical names lol)Across the fabric appears to have alot more stretch than the other way.
Old 10-21-2010, 01:54 PM
Power Poster

Try starching your fabrics too, it really helps my accuracy in cutting and piecing :D:D:D
Old 10-21-2010, 02:04 PM
Power Poster