Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: OBW fabric opinion needed

  1. #1
    Super Member quilter1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ayr, Ontario
    Posts
    1,020
    Blog Entries
    324

    Question OBW fabric opinion needed

    I bought 8 yards of this fabric (with a cream background, not black) for $2 a yard. What do you think it would look like as a OBW? I have not made one yet and want to try it with inexpensive fabric. Any opinions on this fabric? It is Robert Kaufman Salsa Picante collection, Bunch of Peppers. I couldn't leave it there for the price, now I need to do something with it.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    536
    Beautiful! Here's a lovely "jungle type" pattern that someone else used; your fabric might do well with others 'of its kind' http://www.alicekayquilts.com/Images/Jungle%20Quilt.JPG (sorry, I realize that's not a OBW pattern...but I thought of it when you showed your fabric)

  3. #3
    Super Member #1piecemaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Ashdown, AR
    Posts
    8,112
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think it would make an awesome OBW!! I don't blame you. At that price it would have come home with me too.
    Be the best that you can be at everything you do.

  4. #4
    Super Member Murphy1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Folsom, CA
    Posts
    1,518
    Blog Entries
    2
    The fabric is lovely. I have made many OBW, but have used only a 24 inch repeat so I am not sure how it will work with a 16 inch repeat. I am sure there are quilters here who have done so. It will be fun to see when you are done, so please post.
    Murphy1
    For our wonderful Golden Retriever adopted in March of 2010.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Orbiting
    Posts
    1,442
    That's gorgeous fabric!

    If I was you, though, I would use some sort of separator fabric like a solid kona. You said white background? How about white kona. Here's a very beautiful quilt made by another forum member who did this: http://www.quiltingboard.com/members...53-333606.html

  6. #6
    Super Member valleyquiltermo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    MO.
    Posts
    2,689
    would think it will make a good one with fabric left over for other things like place mats if you hung it in the kitchen.
    http://www.skillpages.com/DonnaValleyquiltermo
    Sweet Dreams come from under Cozy Quilts made with love.
    Life is short, take time to enjoy it. Play with your kids and g-kids,
    and do what you can for others.

  7. #7
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    18,891
    It looks good for a bW to me but to see for yourself, do the mirror trick. I purchased 2 mirror squares from the $ store that were for under candles and taped them together to form the 60* triangle to check my fabric. My fabric is still in the "to do" pile as I must quilt my Spiderweb quilt. In fact, I should be making the sandwich right now but I am here instead.

  8. #8
    Junior Member benndm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    273
    Obw ??????

  9. #9
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albany, Oregon
    Posts
    10,661
    I think it will be great as a OBW. (benndm - that's One Block Wonder.)

  10. #10
    Super Member charsuewilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    1,051
    I love it just the way it is, and the price, too. I'd make a table cloth. Maybe you'll have enough left over for that. I'd consider it for a border in your OBW, too.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.