Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: OKAY I have bit the bullet and need OPINIONS

  1. #1
    Super Member tslowery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    GA Small town in Southeast Ga
    Posts
    1,070
    I made these blocks in 2007 from a Quick Quilts magazine and it was a bonus from the web and I lost the instructions (imagine that) :oops: :oops: well I do not know what to do with it now? It was my first attempt at making blocks and I think it was called something like wacky logs are wacky stars it had a star on some of the center blocks. It does not go together like your log cabins light and dark to make a pattern so what do I do????Help...
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Super Member mimisharon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina
    Posts
    6,014
    I think I would use the color that's the center block as a sashing, then make a couple of borders, end by binding in the color of the centers and sashing. Very striking blocks, I really like the mix of colors.

    Hugs,
    Sharon

  3. #3
    Super Member quiltsRfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    6,179
    How about a plain colored sashing. Black seems like it would make some of the bright colors pop. Then a border fabric all around. Nice job with the piecing.

  4. #4
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    12,888
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm not sure I would sash them at all. I think the point of the pattern is to use a free-style log cabin.

  5. #5
    Super Member SaraSewing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    AZ/Utah border
    Posts
    3,291
    I agree with mimisharon. I think that black would be stunning. I'm anxious to see what you choose.

  6. #6
    Super Member tslowery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    GA Small town in Southeast Ga
    Posts
    1,070
    Thanks for answering but :oops: :oops: when you say sashing (is that like a 3or 4 inch piece put between the blocks? duh I know that sounds dumb but I really do not know a lot about this quilting business and then I lost the directions.

  7. #7
    Super Member tslowery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    GA Small town in Southeast Ga
    Posts
    1,070
    Oh yea the center is navy blue. Do you mean make the sashing navy are would black look good because the center is navy?

  8. #8
    Junior Member Ethel A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    234
    Sashing is the strip of fabric that you would place between the blocks. It can be one inch or two inches wide, and the same height of the block. I would keep the sashing the same width as each of the strips within your blocks........ just enough sashing to make each individual block stand out. I think if your sashing is too wide, your eye would focus on the sashing more (since it's dark) and not so much on the blocks. You want your eyes to focus on the blocks.

  9. #9
    Super Member Baren*eh*ked_canadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    1,960
    I would use the navy for sashing, but I would make the sashing pretty thin, since the logs in the cabin aren't very wide ( I mean, from what I can tell in a pic), but that's just me. Someone else might have better ideas than I, I'm kind of a noob.

    If you want, take a big piece of the navy fabric, and lay out all your blocks on top of it spaced out the same distance you want your sashing strips, and then take a pic. Review, rearrange, take another pic, plus you can see how you like them all put together without the sashing.



    ETA: LOL, looks like Ethel and I had the same idea at the same time!

  10. #10
    Super Member tslowery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    GA Small town in Southeast Ga
    Posts
    1,070
    Thanks. I have a big piece of the navy. I will do what you said and lay it out and put blocks on it. I will post a pic and get everyones thoughts . Thanks again I needed some help. I looked for hours for the magazine and then it said it was a bonus from the web I was flabbergasted and said what a dummy Just ask all those pros what to do and so the post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.