Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
One Quarter Inch vs "Scant" One Quarter Inch >

One Quarter Inch vs "Scant" One Quarter Inch

One Quarter Inch vs "Scant" One Quarter Inch

Old 09-06-2010, 02:03 PM

Hi, All ~ being new to quilting, this is probably just too simple, but when would one use a "scant" quarter-inch seam rather than the standard quarter inch? Only when the pattern calls for the scant quarter specifically? Thanks in advance for your input!
Old 09-06-2010, 02:09 PM

I'm kinda new to quilting too - but I think the scant 1/4" is used a lot with triangles (at least the little ones). I could be wrong, but mostly that's the only time I come across them is in a pattern using triangles.
Old 09-06-2010, 02:18 PM

Quilter's Cache uses a lot of scant quarter inches in their blocks. I would only use it if it's called for or if you find your blocks are coming out too small.
Old 09-06-2010, 02:24 PM

I have only been quilting for a year, so don't take my opinion too seriously. I have enough to worry about so I just use my quarter inch foot for all piecing and my tops are turning out fine. I try not to sweat the small stuff unless it really makes a difference! Happy Quilting!
Old 09-06-2010, 02:34 PM
Banned

The scant quarter inch is used to accomodate the minute space taken up by the fold when two pieces are sewn together. The accuracy of the finished piece is what is important. If a pattern uses 2" squares and you sew right on the 1/4" line and sew two together then depending on the weight of the fabric, the finished square might not be exactly 2" finished. This is why it is important to test your seam allowance at the beginning to assure the finished piece will be the accurate size. If you are sewing only squares then it is not important as long as the seams are consistent. Machine manufacturers all have a 1/4" foot but not all are created equal so it is best to test the foot.