Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Opinion on Grace Pro DMQ machine Quilting Frame

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5

    Opinion on Grace Pro DMQ machine Quilting Frame

    I have been considering purchasing a machine quilting frame. Being retired I no longer have the disposable income to pay for someone to longarm quilt. Tried it on my machime but hated wrestling it around. I have come across a Grace DMQ Pro Machine Quilting Frame. The owner wants $500.00. Would appreciate any thoughts and/or advice about the model and price.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,588
    Does it have the original carriage or the upgraded one?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5
    I have emailed her and asked. No reply yet. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Senior Member 1000projects's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Carmel Indiana
    Posts
    458
    There are a lot of versions of the grace frame, i like the type i have and support has been good from the company.

  5. #5
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,702
    Blog Entries
    1
    I spent a lot of time combing the net for comments about different brands of machine quilting frames, and found that Hinterberg frames seem to have the best reputation. Plus they are easy to set up and take down. I would wait for a Hinterberg frame to come up for sale. See http://www.hinterberg.com to see the 3 types of machine frames they have. I just think the Hinterberg is a safer bet than a Grace frame. Some people really like their Grace frames, but I have also seen some complaints about them.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    State College, Pa.
    Posts
    40
    I think $500 is a reasonable price for this frame. I have the Grace GMQ Pro and I like it. I have it set up for King size and I'm able to do all size quilts. I'm one of the users who had no problems with their grace frame. The frame can hold up to an 18in. machine if you decide later you want more quilting space. I bought my frame and Janome 1600P DB from Sewvacdirect.com in 2006 for $1995. I like making the tops more than quilting them so this frame suits me fine. I've thought about upgrading but I like the saying goes, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it."

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    344
    I have a small Grace Start Right frame, crib size, which I paid $500 for almost a year ago. The Grace GMQ Pro is much more frame than mine, so it seems that if it's in good shape, $500 is a very reasonable price. I've not had any issues with my frame either except that I wish it would actually do the quilting for me..
    -Chris-
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Blessed are the children of quilters, for they shall inherit the quilts....

    It does not do well, Harry, to dwell on the dreams....and forget to live. - Albus Dumbledore

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5
    Thank you all very much for your thoughts. I am going to take the plunge and go for it! I have just signed up to the board, am relatively new to quilting, but was really concerned with the cost to get them quilted. This is about the only time I wished I was still working!! Now I can breathe a sigh of relief and enjoy this hobby. I will start saving for a mid-arm machine .....
    Linda

  9. #9
    Senior Member sewplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    624
    I was just going to post the same topic and found yours. Did you get your frame and do you like it? :-) Laura

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.