Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Opinion On Janome Gem?

  1. #1
    Power Poster CarrieAnne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Whitewater, WI
    Posts
    26,193
    I hear so many say they have these, and I would love a little light weight machine. Probaly never find an affordable FW!
    I have heard good things about Janome. Could you please tell me about your Gem? THANK YOU!

  2. #2
    Super Member ShowMama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    1,021
    I have a Janome Gem Platinum and I love it. I use it for all my retreats and classes so I don't have to lug my expensive Elna out of the house. The Gem is very sturdy and sews like a dream. Because mine's a Platinum, it has a little more "electronic" functions like automatic needle up/down and a few decorative stitches. It's been from Texas to Indianapolis and back, and never gave me a moment of trouble.

    Because I liked my Gem so much, I got both my daughters their own. I got them the Gem Gold as they don't sew much and don't need anything fancy. But I'm hoping that someday I can get them interested in quilting and the Janome Gem is a good machine to start with.

  3. #3
    Super Member Quilter7x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    north east
    Posts
    8,784
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a Jem Platinum, which was the top of the line until the new one came out last month. I take the Jem to all my classes, but for weekend retreats, I lug my heavy Janome.

    Maybe some day I will trade the Jem in for the new lightweight machine, but the Jem still works fine and I love it, so I'll keep it a while longer. Go on Janome's website to see both machines.

    Since the new machine came out, some people are trading their Jem's in for it, so you may be able to get a 2nd hand Jem at a good price. The Platinum originally sold for $500. They're probably closer to $400 new now, so you can likely get a used one for just a few hundred dollars.

    The only negative I have is that it doesn't like extremely thick stuff. I was trying to quilt pot holders using prequilted teflon-type stuff and it was too thick. Otherwise I can do anything on the machine.

  4. #4
    Power Poster CarrieAnne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Whitewater, WI
    Posts
    26,193
    Thanks for your opinions, guys. I do want a small one to take places!

  5. #5
    Super Member pab58's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    near Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    6,418
    Blog Entries
    1
    I used three Janome Gems in a Service Projects class I taught at my prior school. The students made baby and toddler quilts that were given away to pregnancy centers, nursing homes, the homeless, etc. The last year I conducted the class my three students made 200 quilts during that school year!!!! Those little machines really hold up well! You won't be disappointed!

    My friend and neighbor next door to me works in her sister's quilt shop in Howell, Michigan, and she swears by Janome. It's the only brand of sewing machine they sell in the shop. She bought one of my little Gems for her granddaughter because she loves them so much!

    I gave my mother one of the Gems, and I have the third one. I use it quite a bit. My mother especially loves hers because it is so lightweight, and it is so easy for her to carry around. She has problems with her wrists, and this little machine is perfect for her. I even take my Gem outside to the patio table to do some piecing when the weather is nice! Love it!!! I think you will, too! ;)

  6. #6
    Super Member hcarpanini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    2,010
    I love mine! I take it on the road all the time to pass the time when I am in a hotel room. I got the one that has the needle up/down setting. I cannot live with out that!

  7. #7
    Super Member thequilterslink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    NW PA
    Posts
    2,685
    Gems are great, love mine.

  8. #8
    gmaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    26
    I bought my Jem Platinum 760 at a quilt show for a fabulous price. Mostly to take to classes and a retreat I'm going to in October. But, I pulled it out for everyday piecing and I absolutely love it. Now I keep my Sapphire 850 set up for quilting and use the Jem exclusively for piecing. It's the best little workhorse of a machine I've sewn with yet. And, only 12 pounds. :thumbup:

  9. #9
    Super Member b.zang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    1,809
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have the Gem Gold and really like it. I use the edge cutting feature which was one of the reasons I bought it. My most-used machine in the Janome 6600, and I find the Gem noisy in comparison, especially when cutting. In my opinion, it's a good purchase because it's inexpensive, light and durable.

  10. #10
    Google Goddess craftybear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Central Indiana (USA)
    Posts
    31,244
    Blog Entries
    194
    wow, thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by pab58
    I used three Janome Gems in a Service Projects class I taught at my prior school. The students made baby and toddler quilts that were given away to pregnancy centers, nursing homes, the homeless, etc. The last year I conducted the class my three students made 200 quilts during that school year!!!! Those little machines really hold up well! You won't be disappointed!

    My friend and neighbor next door to me works in her sister's quilt shop in Howell, Michigan, and she swears by Janome. It's the only brand of sewing machine they sell in the shop. She bought one of my little Gems for her granddaughter because she loves them so much!

    I gave my mother one of the Gems, and I have the third one. I use it quite a bit. My mother especially loves hers because it is so lightweight, and it is so easy for her to carry around. She has problems with her wrists, and this little machine is perfect for her. I even take my Gem outside to the patio table to do some piecing when the weather is nice! Love it!!! I think you will, too! ;)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.