Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 9 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 81

Thread: Opinion on Warm and Natural

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    412

    Opinion on Warm and Natural

    Just my opinion and experience (recent). I purchased W&N years ago and always postponed using it "for something special." Well, I finally got around to using it because to be honest, there's only so much time left to wait (lol).

    I love using it but I ended up needing more batting, and I purchased Mountain Mist Ultra Fine. Big difference in how it handles. I am making the quilt as a quilt as you go, and the Warm and Natural stays in place when I am stitching these long strips. The Ultra Fine has to be hand basted first. Not loving it.

    Serita

  2. #2
    Super Member Luv Quilts and Cats's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,400
    I use warm and natural. I love it. I used it when I hand-quilted a small wall hanging and enjoyed working with it, not sure if I will hand quilt again. My larger quilts are quilted by a long-armer and she used warm and natural and I have loved every quilt she has done.
    Luv Quilts and Cats
    Never underestimate the healing effects of beauty. - Florence Nightingale

  3. #3
    Senior Member asimplelife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Northern Minnesota
    Posts
    486
    Warm and Natural is my favorite batting and it sticks so well with spray baste which is a bonus! I try to stock up on it when it goes on sale and finally bought a bolt of it. I live in the boonies so mail order is my life.

  4. #4
    Super Member DebraK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    8,493
    I know I like it. everything except the price ;-)
    I have chosen to be happy because it is good for my health - Voltaire

  5. #5
    Senior Member wannaquilt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    742
    i love it. easy to work with and the quilts turn out so nice and soft and have a more substantial feel from it.

  6. #6
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,155
    Warm & Natural/Warm & White is all I'll use, for quilts. Aside from easy to work with, I like the fact that cotton breathes. I buy it from Hobby Lobby, with a 40% off coupon, off of the roll. I keep promising myself I'll one day just order an entire roll.
    Neesie


    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out.
    ~Richard Dawkins

  7. #7
    Super Member Daylesewblessed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    1,155
    I like to work with Warm and Natural, but it does shrink, so I pre-soak it. That isn't much fun, but is worth it to me. It also makes a quilt quite heavy, which isn't much of a factor on small quilts.

  8. #8
    Senior Member crafterrn1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    819
    I use warm and natural as well. I love the feel and the weight of it. I also love the puckering as well when the quilt is washed. The batting is easy to use for hand and machine quilting. Luann in CT
    Live Love and Laugh Enough!

  9. #9
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6,230
    Blog Entries
    2
    Are you mixing the W&N with the Ultra Fine in the same quilt? Did you pre-shrink the W&N? Warm & Natural is cotton and will shrink when you wash it, like about 3%, resulting in the noticeable puckering craftern1 mentioned. Ultra Fine is polyester and won't shrink at all. This is also why the Ultra Fine slips, because polyester is slippery. If you combine them in the same quilt, you might have an issue.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  10. #10
    Senior Member liont's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    476
    I primarily use W&N. I used Kyoto bamboo/cotton before. It is fluffier and softer, but too expensive to be used as a staple.
    Believe it or not, I stocked up so much (about 20 Queen sized) before I left US, I am not running out of batting anytime soon! I bought most of them when Joanns' having $9.99 promo.

Page 1 of 9 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.